Subject: Develop, develop, develop... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pedro
Portugal
Lisbon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There were four of us eager to make money in pre-industrial Lancashire: me, Francisco, Hugo and Nuno. Me and Hugo had played the game before. Francisco and Nuno were complete newbies.

I had decided to try a very cotton centric approach. I was fairly sure that Hugo (the other guy who had played before) was going for a shipyard heavy strategy and I wanted to see how a cotton strategy could compete. So, I was determined to ignore shipyards, coal mines and iron works and focus on cotton mills and ports. I've never developed or built anything except cotton mills and ports for the whole game. I'm fully aware that this very rigid approach is not the ideal way to play this game but alas I wanted to try it anyway.

After a quick rules explanation we got things going.

The first turns were fairly typical: everybody was trying to get an early income. I build a port, a cotton mill and flipped them for income. Hugo flipped his cotton mill with external markets. Nuno and Francisco built coal mines and iron works. I developed early to reach level 2 ports and pursued on my predetermined path. That was the only time I developed... and that was a big mistake. Hugo was also focusing on cotton but he was using external markets more after one initial lucky draw.

Nuno surprised me by building the level 1 shipyard. I was sure Hugo was going to do it. Francisco was a little bit lost, trying to get his head around all the seemingly quirky stuff happening.

The first era finished like this:

Pedro:
Canal points: 11 Industry points: 22
Cotton mills: 2 L1 and 2 L2
Ports: 1 L1 and 1 L2

Nuno:
Canal points: 14 Industry points: 18
Cotton mills: 2 L1
Ports: 1 L1
Coal mines: 1 L1
Shipyards: 1 L1

Hugo:
Canal points: 16 Industry points: 11
Cotton mills: 3 L1
Ports: 1 L1
Ironworks: 1 L1

Francisco:
Canal points: 13 Industry points: 19
Cotton mills: 2 L1
Ports: 2 L1