Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Race for the Galaxy» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Arms Trader rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
If you're going military, and your primary antagonist is going produce/consume, there are times when you do not want to explore, and instead want to pick Consume Trade. This is called being an Arms Trader.

It is usually when you have a decent trade good, say an alien, but it can be less fancy early on. It happens on the cycle when you know the Craftsman is going to Produce. The Craftsman should be out of goods to consume, but you still have a trade good yourself because you're an evil military bastard, who has plenty of windfalls and almost no way to consume them.

You pick Consume Trade instead of Explore. Instead of seeing 7 cards, keeping 1, you see 5 but keep all 5! Plus your enemies get nothing, instead of draw-two-keep-one. With the extra cards you're now wealthy enough to leech off a develop, or buy that expensive non-military world you've had your eye on.

Go Arms Trader, go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This works in a 3+ player game, usually.

In a 2 player game with the advanced rules, once the produce/consumer gets their engine revved, you can expect to see:
IV:Consume/x2
Vroduce
be the ONLY two action they're dropping, relying on you (the military guy) to provide them with develop/settle actions.

If the military player truly wants to be an Arms Trader they should drop the Trade League or Black Market World so they can trade on their opponent's Consume action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Paul Sodusta
United States
Santa Barbara
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
If the military player truly wants to be an Arms Trader they should drop the Trade League or Black Market World so they can trade on their opponent's Consume action.


The tricky part is drawing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Cheung
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't forget the discards for VP: Deficit Spending, Merchant World. And remember you can discard for VP even if you have no goods on the table...

And don't feel dirty about fighting fire with fire: Actually paying (gasp!) for a couple cheap production (or windfall converters) and a consumer (something nasty like Tourist world/Mining League/Trendsetters can let you steal a couple points...or even keep parity. Deficit spending is a pseudo world+consume power - Merchant World will do that too and don't forget it gives two extra cards on trade.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave J McWeasely
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmb
byronczimmer wrote:
In a 2 player game with the advanced rules, once the produce/consumer gets their engine revved, you can expect to see:
IV:Consume/x2
Vroduce
be the ONLY two action they're dropping, relying on you (the military guy) to provide them with develop/settle actions.
You can still do it in advanced-2'er, as long as your'e not so predictable about it that they know you're going to consume, and thus do something else with one of their actions. However, it would be funny to see them guess wrong and double-produce.
sauron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrWeasely wrote:
byronczimmer wrote:
In a 2 player game with the advanced rules, once the produce/consumer gets their engine revved, you can expect to see:
IV:Consume/x2
Vroduce
be the ONLY two action they're dropping, relying on you (the military guy) to provide them with develop/settle actions.

You can still do it in advanced-2'er, as long as your'e not so predictable about it that they know you're going to consume, and thus do something else with one of their actions. However, it would be funny to see them guess wrong and double-produce.
sauron


Failing to play IV/x2 when you're the primary consumer is giving away VPs and tempo. The Arms Trader's selection of IV/$ will probably not sway the primary consumer from selecting IV/x2;V.

When the two player game polarizes so strongly with one preferring IV/x2;V, and the other preferring I/+5;II or I/+5;III or III;IV/$ {classic military strategy choices}, it's the end of the race.

The later the trade, the less it helps the military strategy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.