United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Bond...
badge
...how British am I?
mbmbmbmbmb
After reading a number of glowing reviews for this game (i.e. Carcassonne helped bridge the gap in my relationship with my son) and discovering that it is a particularly good two-player game (I'm always searching for games that my lady friend might enjoy), I finally threw down the money and bought the basic game (w/ river expansion included) today. I'm just getting into board games and this seems like an appropriate next step. I’ve played the game three times thus far. My session report:

Game 1
An inebriate won game 1. Need I say more? Round one's always practice, right?

Game 2
Game 2 was a night later with the lady friend. Cutting from five to two players offered up new glimpses into strategy. This was her first game, so she spent most of her time collecting points through cloisters, roads and cities while almost completely ignoring farmers until the end of the game when it was too late. Because of this, I easily captured every city on the board and nearly lapped her on the scoring track.

Game 3