Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: space [+] junk [+] [View All]
David Kahnt
United States
Youngstown
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
It's fun, it's healthy, it's good exercise. The kids will just love it. And we put a little sand inside to make the experience more pleasant.
badge
You know, they say there was a man who jumped from the forty-FIFTH floor? But that's another story...
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahh, print and plays. I must admit that I have never done them before... partly because some are really good quality and others don't seem like good games while reading the rules.

But I decided to try Space Junkyard. Heck, technically its free... right?

Theme:

In the game you are a ship flying around space looking for, well, junk. This is all well and good but the 6 x 6 grid layout has multiple issues, like other people doing exactly the same thing.

The theme I think is a well established one in the game. While not overtly pasted on, it is still there. The biggest plus with the theme is that you can recycle any ship parts that you pick up, so in reality, space really is full of junk, and heck if you want to salvage it to make you ship bigger, good for you.

The goal of the game is to make the ship you're building, the best one. So be careful to get the parts you want.

Components:

The components are what you make them, I went to a local office supply store and had them print it out on 100lb paper in full color. So I will not comment on that.

But I will comment on the art: beautiful. By far one of the better looking tile type print and plays. The artwork is great, to say the least. But a few issues I have with it.

1) The starting tiles would better served if they had the player colors on it. As of right now they are kind of hard to tell apart (with a quick overview) from the other tiles.