Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

StarCraft: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you have 3 build orders (1 being the Special Order)? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Aka Six
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Can you have 3 build orders (1 being the Special Order)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
akasixcon wrote:
Can you have 3 build orders (1 being the Special Order)?


Definitely.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Martinez
United States
Irving
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As long as you have at least one Research Module built, you can use all 3 build orders in one turn. If you have the resources and workers to actually make this worthwhile is another thing.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aka Six
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Can you build a building (lets say Gateway Level 2) so you can build a dragon on the same Build action?

So usually you can build one building and any unlimited number of units right? So if you build the Gateway Level 2, can you also start building dragoons?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Epperson
United States
Frederick
MD
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NO - Building Units occurs before building / upgrading buildings in the BUILD SEQUENCE PHASE.

Therefore, you would have to wait to build the new units desired after your base upgrade (i.e. next build order phase).

Build Sequence:

1) Unlimited - Workers / Transports
2) Build Limit - Combat Units
3) 1 x Base Upgrade
4) 1 x Module upgrade
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Gardunia
United States
Gig Harbor
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not uhless of course you have a subsequent build order on the same planet -after- the build order during which you upgraded the warp gate, at which point I'd imagine you could build Dragoons jsut fine.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Thingamagummy
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Don't make me bust out the drama!!
badge
Panda is a Werewolf. The Village wins!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you can, say, play a Gold Order as one of your four... and as long as you're not blocked, you can spend a Build Action to build the Gold Module. Right? So you can then actually use the Gold Order?

What if you got blocked and couldn't build the gold module? Do you lose your entire turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arkibet wrote:
So you can, say, play a Gold Order as one of your four... and as long as you're not blocked, you can spend a Build Action to build the Gold Module. Right? So you can then actually use the Gold Order?

What if you got blocked and couldn't build the gold module? Do you lose your entire turn?

You cannot place a Gold Order during the planning phase unless you had a Research Module during the planning phase. You cannot place a gold order in hope of acquiring a Research Module later in the turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Thingamagummy
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Don't make me bust out the drama!!
badge
Panda is a Werewolf. The Village wins!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
arkibet wrote:
So you can, say, play a Gold Order as one of your four... and as long as you're not blocked, you can spend a Build Action to build the Gold Module. Right? So you can then actually use the Gold Order?

What if you got blocked and couldn't build the gold module? Do you lose your entire turn?

You cannot place a Gold Order during the planning phase unless you had a Research Module during the planning phase. You cannot place a gold order in hope of acquiring a Research Module later in the turn.


Ah - good to know! So you can guarantee that someone who only built one Research Module may only play 1 gold order. There's so many "little" rules to Starcraft that we keep discovering. Last night we got, I'd say, 90% of the rules correct. It was a much better game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arkibet wrote:
Ah - good to know! So you can guarantee that someone who only built one Research Module may only play 1 gold order.

Correct. And if they have no Research Modules during the Place Orders phase, you can know for sure they will not be using any Gold Orders that turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.