Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Neuroshima Hex!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Granade!!! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hubert Bartos
Poland
Gdańsk
Pomorskie
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As it was written in FAQ to polish version of Neuroshima Hex:


PL "Granat nie jest rzucany przez sztab, jedynie może zostać rzucony na jedno pól wokół sztabu!"

ENG "Granade isn`t thrown by HQ, he only may be thrown to adjacent hex of this HQ!

And as it was written on forum:
Theta [blaszak] "Granat można rzucić, nawet jeśli Sztab Borgo jest zasieciowany. Nigdzie nie pisze, że granatem rzuca Sztab lub jakakolwiek jednostka - to nadinterpretacja fabularna"

"You may throw granade, even if your HQ is blocked by net. Nowhere was written, that HQ is throwing this granade - this is fabular over-interpretation"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
This just goes to show that grenades are not only trouble in real life, but in games too!

For future readers of this thread: the subject came up in the puzzle
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/2043997
and in the earlier rules thread
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1711387
where Ignacy wrote that Michał Oracz said that a netted HQ could not throw a grenade, apparently contradicting some other ruling on the question. Whee!

A FAQ is available which indeed conflicts with what Ignacy reported in the other thread:
http://hex.neuroshima.org/faq2.pdf

(Edited to add links to the other relevant threads.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ignacy Trzewiczek
Poland
Gliwice
Slask
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, I talked to Michal Oracz and he confirms that Granade may not be thrown from netted HQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hubert Bartos
Poland
Gdańsk
Pomorskie
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So, it looks like you should change FAQ published on official site (hex.neuroshima.org) becouse even is this site is dead some people use it as a Holy Bible when discussing rules
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marek Szumny
Poland
Wrocław / Głubczyce
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's something wrong with this rule. What about other armies? For example: If Outpost's HQ is netted can player use Sniper? Or if Moloch's HQ is netted can player use Air strike? What about other Instant action tiles except Grenade?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Mar_cus wrote:
There's something wrong with this rule. What about other armies? For example: If Outpost's HQ is netted can player use Sniper? Or if Moloch's HQ is netted can player use Air strike? What about other Instant action tiles except Grenade?

The difference seems fine to me since all those other special attacks are not adjacent to the HQ, so they seem less dependent on the HQ.

Besides, everyone whines and complains that Borgo is too strong, so this little restriction on the grenade helps make Borgo a little less powerful.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marek Szumny
Poland
Wrocław / Głubczyce
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
Mar_cus wrote:
There's something wrong with this rule. What about other armies? For example: If Outpost's HQ is netted can player use Sniper? Or if Moloch's HQ is netted can player use Air strike? What about other Instant action tiles except Grenade?

The difference seems fine to me since all those other special attacks are not adjacent to the HQ, so they seem less dependent on the HQ.

As I remember, nowhere in the manual is written that Grenade is thrown by HQ. With this rule it seems that all Instant Action tiles are used by HQ - so it means that in the same situation other armies have the same problem with Air strike and Sniper.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Mar_cus wrote:
As I remember, nowhere in the manual is written that Grenade is thrown by HQ. With this rule it seems that all Instant Action tiles are used by HQ - so it means that in the same situation other armies have the same problem with Air strike and Sniper.
Yes, I think everyone agrees that the rules do not explicitly say the grenade is thrown by the HQ. But since it must be used in one of the 6 hexes adjacent to the HQ, one can reasonably assume it has some kind of connection with the HQ...

Anyway, given that most people complain that Borgo is too strong, and given that twice in this forum the publisher has said that the game's designer said that the Borgo HQ can't throw the grenade if it is in a net, it seems pretty reasonable to go with the rule that the Borgo HQ can't throw the grenade if it is in a net.

Plus it's ultimately kind of silly to argue about what's realistic or consistent in a game with such abstracted mechanics and such a crazy SF theme.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Where can we find an official FAQ in english ?

Is the Granade problem solved ?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Domagala
United States
Key West
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Rules don't say that is thrown by HQ but it says "Grenade cannot be thrown
from a netted HQ" so that answers that question
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.