Subject: How do I avoid playing with these people? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United Kingdom
Southampton
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
I'll think of something witty to put here...
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay.

I've been gaming at Southampton University since October 2005 (so 2 and a bit years). Typically 15-20 people will turn up and play a mixture of board games, Magic the gathering, Games Workshop and Role Play games. In all the years I have been going I have never had this problem. Here it is:

On Saturday I played Railroad Tycoon with 4 others. One player asked to play, so I said OK and explained the rules (I have successfully taught this game to at least 15 different people, maybe even 20+ without hardly a hitch). The trouble was he kept making mistakes. Not regular mistakes like anyone could make, but, well let me give examples.

For those that don't know the game, a red cube can only be delivered to a red city, a yellow cube can only be delivered to a yelloe city etc. Some cities are grey, so can't deliver cubes to them (since there are no grey cubes). First off, as his opening move, he wants to connect 2 grey cities together in the very SW corner of the map, for a cost of $8,000, which is pretty much the worst opening move you could possibly hope to make.

Being the nice guy that I am, I remind him of the rule about where the cubes can go, so he eventually builds a more sensible link in the South East (Savannah-Charleston IIRC). Later he tries to deliver cubes. He takes a LONG look at the seven-odd cubes adjacent to the link, and picks up a random cube, putting it down in the destination city (of the wrong colour, of course). Repeat rules explanation. Repeat the procedure so that I state the rule for a total of 6 or 7 times in the whole game.