You want to know something? I don't think Mozart's going to help at all.
What does this rule mean to you, regarding "raking in the profits"...?
If there is only one sailor on a ship, who is the captain (or maybe no sailors at all), the shipowner is given back the sailors' wages.
I read it as if you only get 1 die placed on your ship, you get all of the wages back.
If the apostrophe was placed differently and made sailor's instead of sailors', then I'd say that the shipowner only gets the "wheel" money back.