Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Wells
United States
Centralia
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
This is my first attempt at a game review on BGG, so bear with me. Lately, I’ve been playing board games more and more. One reason is that it requires my family and/or friends to sit and actually communicate with one another. Another is that after a decade or so of great computer games, I’m all upgraded out. With a board game, I (hopefully) don’t have to upgrade my table to play it.
My wife actually noticed this game first at our FLGS. Both of us enjoy reading the fantasy genre and the title and box art seemed to catch her attention. After reading a number of well written and balance reviews here on the ‘Geek, I decided to buy it. As we opened the box and peered in, my wife, daughter and I were all very impressed with the contents. The cards and board are of good stock, and the character sheets and stand-ups are heavy enough to last a long time (especially since the little girl is years past teething).
I’ll not go into the mechanics of game play and all the rules here, as this has been done several times by those with vastly more experience gaming than me. The rules are fairly straightforward, though my aging brain had to read through a couple times to comprehend. Our first game, we checked the rulebook several times to make sure we were doing it right. By the third or fourth turn, we had them down.
This is a fun game. Its simplicity lets you free your imagination and enjoy the journey. Character development is fairly easy, if not always rapid. Combat is mostly one roll of the dice and calculating bonuses. Unless you’re really unlucky, it’s almost impossible to die. The monsters and creatures are what you’d expect from this genre. As my nine-year-old likes to be nice, we usually play the rules variant that makes the first player with two artifacts the winner, rather than beating up each other for the final prize (my apologies to Duncan MacLeod here).