Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dust to Dust.

So I first game across Dust while browsing www.gamesinabox.com, looking to see what games I wanted to try. I then came to BGG to get a bit more info about it, to see if it was worth my time. The pictures looked interesting, and the reviews I saw looked positive. So I figured why not. If myself and/or my group didn't like it, I could always sell or trade it for something else. So with part of my tax refund, I went out and purchased Dust. And tonight I finally got to play it.

I decided to post this in the General forum since it will contain impressions, some reviewing, and sessions all in one. Obviously I've only had one play, so I'm no expert.

Now, where to start. First I don't regret the purchase. Even if my friends didn't enjoy it, I sure as hell did even with the stumbling that was done. And of course with more plays under my belt, things will go smoother. The quality is top-notch all around. Awesome minis with a nice retro look to them, with no extra flash or misshapped parts. At least non that I found. There are a lot of pieces. The fact that they're pre-sorted and bagged is excellent, and always a plus. The artwork is beautiful. The dice are simple to understand. Either its a target reticle(hit), or blank(miss). Nothing to get mixed up about. I like that the units have different roles and values. I also like how the you the roller get to decide what your opponent loses, which really makes things interesting. Tactical Supremecy is also a nice touch, which means that the advantage isn't always with the attacker. And it means you need to plan your forces carefully. And of course the cards, which determine the order of play and how often you can do certain actions. Very refreshing in my opinion. You can't simply slug it out.