Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two misc. questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Young
United States
Independence
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If a garrison and an HI are stacked in a space at the start of an AM, can 1 Minor move turn the Garr into a town, and then the next Minor move upgrade it to a city? If not, where is the reference?

2. In scenario 6, are Egyptian provinces controlled as if they were player provinces, that is to say do you have to conrol Alexandria and 51% of the spaces in Egypt province to control it? (Assumes Egyptian forces are all destroyed)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike:

1. In 7.12 it is very clear that your move is legal. The garrison must be there at the start of the minor move you build the town and the HI must be there at the start of the minor move you build the city. No problem then except the 5T it will cost you.

2. 51% of the province and Alexandria. Egypt is always considered an occupied player province (as is Cyrenaica) and must be aggressively occupied to get the money. With its bonus Egypt (for once) is worth it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Young
United States
Independence
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding Egypt, I only hold Alexandria and one other space in Egypt province, and there are no Egytian forces left. If the SW result comes up during income, will the Egyptian army reappear in its full strength (after they are unable to undertake military ops)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
orcface999 wrote:
Regarding Egypt, I only hold Alexandria and one other space in Egypt province, and there are no Egytian forces left. If the SW result comes up during income, will the Egyptian army reappear in its full strength (after they are unable to undertake military ops)?


Yes, they will be restored to full strength, placed wherever you can (even if everything goes into Alexandria.

By the way, when playing Egypt, don't forget about the Militia rule. If Egypt loses a battle in their home territory (which is almost always the only place they fight), they can roll for militia as part of the Militia rules (including only once per turn). Getting a militia unit or two into Alexandria can be the difference between losing it and surviving.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As we saw at Brogfest, the militia are critical for the Egyptians!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Young
United States
Independence
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, they got their militia (accidentally they got them twice in the same AM) and they do make a difference. So, I have to hope I do not roll a 1 or 4 on BBC. What happens to their galleys?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael @mgouker
United States
Pembroke Pines
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They play like Neutrals in this regard. You are going to have to smash them.

In Second Edition, for what it's worth, the strength of the Egyptians will likely be a variable.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.