Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Adjacent to known good order enemy unit" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Isaac Citrom
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Adjacent to known good order enemy unit"

How can a unit be adjacent to an enemy unit and it not be known? I understand that there is always LOS to an adjacent hex, and "known" means having LOS.

Am I being too pedantic or am I missing something? Can enemy units be adjacent and not be known to one another?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Merric Blackman
Australia
Waubra
Victoria
flag msg tools
designer
Ramping up my reviewing.
badge
Happily playing games for many, many years.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, but just not in SK#1.

It just uses that wording for consistency. A concealed unit in full ASL is not known, nor is a Hidden unit, as occurs in SK#3.

Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, in full ASL, one must distinguish between ADJACENT and adjacent.

Good stuff!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Isaac Citrom
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it, Merric. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm
United Kingdom
Preston
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Devon Harmon wrote:
Also, in full ASL, one must distinguish between ADJACENT and adjacent.

Good stuff!


you're shitting us, right?



bring it on! bring it all on!

[still on sk1 but getting more hooked by the play...]

1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alpha Mastrano
Australia
Heidelberg
Victoria, Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Adjacent: "hexes are considered adjacent if they share a common hexside".

ADJACENT: "units are considered ADJACENT if any Infantry unit in one hex could conceivably advance into another during the APh and a LOS exists between those two hexes".

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm
United Kingdom
Preston
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Imago wrote:
Adjacent: "hexes are considered adjacent if they share a common hexside".

ADJACENT: "units are considered ADJACENT if any Infantry unit in one hex could conceivably advance into another during the APh and a LOS exists between those two hexes".



walls? river?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Haseler
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Speaking of ASL situations, rather than just SK terrain: if two units are separated by a cliff hexside, or one is in a building (above ground level) and the other is outside at ground level etc, they should be Adjacent for fire but not ADJACENT as defined by the ability to advance into the other loaction...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Malcolm
United Kingdom
Preston
Lancashire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Yer, i catch the idea...

What about

Adjacent? or Adjacent or even Adjacent... i can well imagine.

shake
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Young
Wales
Wellesley
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
And if you never have, you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ASL rocks!
devil

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Massey
United States
Teachey
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Casual wargamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
medievalbanquet wrote:
ASL rocks!
devil






and rolls!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.