Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

NHL Ice Breaker: The Card Hockey Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Power Hands and Faceoffs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Craig Artl
United States
New Berlin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played our first game of NHL Ice Breaker last night. After a tight 1-0 first period, the Colorado Avalanche opened things up and skated off with a 7-5 win over Detroit! Only one question regarding the rules.

After a stoppage in play, is it possible to play a power hand for the faceoff resulting in an automatic goal? The rules seem to be pretty specific about each player playing 1 card for the faceoff but then it does say you can "follow-up" with more cards like a normal hand. According to the rules, power hands result in an automatic goal in Pass/Skate or Shot scenarios so is a faceoff a Pass/Skate scenario? Thanks for the help!

Craig
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Thompson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
After a stoppage in play, is it possible to play a power hand for the faceoff resulting in an automatic goal?


That's how I play it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Klages
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's not how I play it, but it seems a reasonable interpretation of the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig Artl
United States
New Berlin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It all boils down to whether or not a faceoff is a pass/skate situation. It would be great if we could get an official answer on this from the company. Thanks for the comments!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.