Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Attila» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playing/Discarding Cards in a Conflict rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Gassett
United States
Fort Worth
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just wanted to make sure we were doing this right. Would it be possible to play or discard all of your hand cards during a conflict, thereby having no card to play when your turn came around? Several of my tablemates were playing cards for tribes not represented in a conflict in our game last night, primarily to get rid of cards they did not want, but also to serve the minor purpose of a "bluff". Although the above situation (not having any cards to play) did not arise for anyone, the question was asked.

An afterthought/question that came to mind was - is it even legal to play (=discard) a tribe card NOT represented in the current conflict?

Any elucidation on this issue would be much appreciated!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Apocryphile wrote:
Would it be possible to play or discard all of your hand cards during a conflict, thereby having no card to play when your turn came around?


Yes.

Quote:
An afterthought/question that came to mind was - is it even legal to play (=discard) a tribe card NOT represented in the current conflict?


Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apocryphile wrote:
An afterthought/question that came to mind was - is it even legal to play (=discard) a tribe card NOT represented in the current conflict?


No. The (Dutch) rules say you can only play cards of tribes represented in the conflict.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Michaud
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
On-Line Want List Generator - Hopefully Making Math Trades a Little Bit Easier
badge
Captain Kirk, Captain Picard, Captain Sisko, Captain Janeway, Captain Archer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BaSL wrote:
Apocryphile wrote:
An afterthought/question that came to mind was - is it even legal to play (=discard) a tribe card NOT represented in the current conflict?
No. The (Dutch) rules say you can only play cards of tribes represented in the conflict.

The official RGG English rules also have a hint that this is correct... in section 8 (Rule clarifications), 1st bullet (Conflict) it says...

"In such a situation (when there are only markers from a single tribe), players may play cards for that tribe to get rid of the cards from their hands".

So I infer you can only ever play cards for the tribe(s) represented in the conflict. Other tribes can't come in and join the fight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Clemson Tigers #1
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The English rules are clear that you cannot play cards representing tribes that aren't in the conflict. Under section 3: "A player may play cards from any of the tribes present in the province."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If it were not this way and you could bluff or play cards not involved, it would mean the "trade" action tile had very little value-- you could always clear out 'trash' from your hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.