Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Betrayal at House on the Hill» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement and the Secret Stairs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Randolph
United States
Strawberry Plains
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmb
Our group is in two camps concerning the Secret Stairs. Camp A interprets the rules to read that using the stairs costs an extra movement point. Moving from the Ballroom to the Furnace Room would take two movement points, one for the Secret Stairs and one for the Furnance Room. Camp B reads it as if moving on the Secret Stairs is no different than the Main Staircase between the Foyer and the Upper Landing (or a normal dorway, for that matter). They feel the "extra movement" mentioned on the card is in reference to the "free" movement of the coal chute.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McEvoy
Canada
Mountain
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The answer is in the FAQ. The FAQ (and the revised haunt books) for this game are *absolutely essential* - there are a LOT of errors in the game as-it-shipped. The answer you your question is "camp B".



Does using the Secret Stairs or Secret Passage count as an extra tile for movement purposes?
These cards state, "Moving from one Secret Passage/Stairs token to the other counts as moving one space." No matter how far apart the rooms actually are, you can move from one room directly to the other as if they were adjacent, meaning you pay one move. The passageway itself is not considered an additional space.



http://www.wizards.com/default.asp?x=ah/faqs/hoth

Print it, read it, study it, save yourself a lot of argument time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I second the official FAQ available online. I didn't read from end to end, but it covers pretty much every nitpicky and ambiguous thing that could come up such as "Can the dog go across bridges (where you need to roll dice) or up chutes to retrieve objects")
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.