Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question: Card row (less than 4 players) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Philippe Sergerie
Canada
La Prairie
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I understand correctly, when playing with less than 4 players, a certain number of cards will be removed from play at the start of each player turn?

Ex: 2 player game.

Player A removes the cards on the first 3 positions, then moves all card to the left, then fills in the blank spaces with card for the Civil deck.

Player B, on his turn, does the same. So that means that every player turn, 3 cards will be removed to the box. Is this correct?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Murmak
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philster74 wrote:
If I understand correctly, when playing with less than 4 players, a certain number of cards will be removed from play at the start of each player turn?

Ex: 2 player game.

Player A removes the cards on the first 3 positions, then moves all card to the left, then fills in the blank spaces with card for the Civil deck.

Player B, on his turn, does the same. So that means that every player turn, 3 cards will be removed to the box. Is this correct?

Thanks!


In a 2 player game, EACH player remove all the cards from the first 3 slots (if any) on the Card row at the beginning of his/her turn.

In a 3 player game, EACH player remove all the cards from the first 2 slots (if any) on the Card row at the beginning of his/her turn.

In a 4 player game, EACH player remove the card from the first slot (if any) on the Card row at the beginning of his/her turn.

This rule plus removing 3+ and 4+ cards in 2 player game and 4+ cards in 3 player game makes the number or rounds in any number of players about the same (should be 19-20 rounds no matter how many players are playing).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Coker
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not necessarily.

You only remove cards from the spaces at the left of the card row that are labeled with the player icons.

To continue your 2-player example...

If the previous player had taken cards from the first and second card spots, only one card would be discarded. The card in the third slot. Then all cards shift to the left and you deal to fill in any empty spaces at the right side of the row.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Before the game you remove all of the civil cards with 3+ or 4+ on them. There are 10 of these (5 3+ and 5 4+) in each deck. You also remove the pacts from the military decks.

You only remove cards from the first three positions, not the first three cards left. So every player turn, 0 to 3 cards will be removed.

Note that you do not remove cards from the track on anyone's first turn. The first time this happens is player 1's 2nd turn. He deals cards from civil deck A, and at that point Age A ends. Player 1 will draw military cards from Age I at the end of his 2nd turn.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Seal of Approval
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, just to clarify one last thing: After removing and adding cards at the beginning of a player's turn, the card row is always full (regardless of the number of players).

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Asperamanca wrote:
Ok, just to clarify one last thing: After removing and adding cards at the beginning of a player's turn, the card row is always full (regardless of the number of players).


Except on the first turn, when you don't remove or refill cards. And in Age IV when you run out of cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fran Diaz
Spain
Zaragoza
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Even at the end of an Age? Is the player forced to continue filling the card row with the next deck? Or he must stop?

I can't find a clear explanation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moisés Solé
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. When Age I or II cards run out in the middle of the row, the Age ends and the row is filled with cards from the next Age. Cards get obsolete, and in the full game players lose yellow tokens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.