Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sustained fire and random hex rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If a weapon is using Sustained Fire and jams due to a 'doubles' roll which also triggers a random hex event (e.g Sniper), does that random hex roll count for repairing the weapon or is the weapon not actually Jammed until after the Fire action has been resolved?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McLintock
Scotland
Glasgow
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"Roll dice and kick ass!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
If a weapon is using Sustained Fire and jams due to a 'doubles' roll which also triggers a random hex event (e.g Sniper), does that random hex roll count for repairing the weapon or is the weapon not actually Jammed until after the Fire action has been resolved?

This came up in a game of mine only the other day. The trigger interrupts the resolution of the fire attack, which is then resumed after the trigger has been completely executed. So, in your example: the sniper is the immediate effect of the dice roll, so that the weapon isn't broken when the random hex is selected; hence the weapon can't be broken then fixed immediately as you (and I!) were hoping. Hope this makes sense.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As John says, you resolve the Trigger (Sniper) before you resolve the effects of the dice roll (which would include breaking the weapon due to Sustained Fire). So, if it's not broken yet, the random hex selection can't fix it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.