Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Patrons of Venice» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michelle Zentis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We played our first game of Patrons of Venice yesterday and all look forward to our second play. We did have a couple of questions come up about the rules, though:

1. When producing goods, can you daisy-chain production? For example, can you turn a hemp into a canvas and then use that canvas to produce a tent all in the same turn? Or would you have to have the canvas already in hand at the start of the production action?

2. In the guild variant, if you use somebody else's building to produce a good, does that use up that building's production quota for the rest of the round? Or can each player produce a good at that building each round? (We didn't use the guild variant yesterday, but we plan to use it in our next game.)

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Dubin
United States
Champaign
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
caesarmom wrote:
1. When producing goods, can you daisy-chain production? For example, can you turn a hemp into a canvas and then use that canvas to produce a tent all in the same turn? Or would you have to have the canvas already in hand at the start of the production action?


We've played that you can daisy-chain, based on a strict reading of the rules. Manufactured goods are taken into the player's hand as they are produced (page 6), and the rules don't specify that good cards are in hand at the beginning of the production action -- only that they are in hand.

Quote:
2. In the guild variant, if you use somebody else's building to produce a good, does that use up that building's production quota for the rest of the round? Or can each player produce a good at that building each round? (We didn't use the guild variant yesterday, but we plan to use it in our next game.)


We haven't tried that variant, and I don't see any clue in the rules for how to answer your question. But I'd hope that if each building can be used only once per round, then the business owner would have the right to refuse.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.