Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Masonry and Engineering rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Rousselle
United States
Metairie
Louisiana
flag msg tools
If a player has masonry and wishes to build 2 stages of a wonder, can that player use 2 different engineering action cards for discounts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Russell
United States
Clarkston
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My unofficial opinion is no.

You spend a civil action to play the engineering card. As part of resolving engineering card, you use an implied (and included) action to pay for a level of wonder. Since Masonry lets you build two levels for one action, you are allowed to pay for another level without an additional action. So you get one level with a discount and one for full price.

Using a second engineering card would take another civil action. Masonry doesn't give you another action, it only allows building two levels for one action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Fisk
United Kingdom
Stoke on Trent
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Come on you Seagulls! Sami Hyppia's Blue & White army!
badge
That's weird. This bit used to mention Shire Games, and tell you all how wonderful we are. But it seems to have got deleted. Let's see what happens this time ....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is it possible to have two Engineering cards ?

Bearing in mind you can never take a card that you already have ?


Aha ... You mean the "Engineering Genius" Action card, not the Engineering Technology card.

Please ignore what I said




N.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Pit Crew avaialble now! The Expanse coming in October!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scott is (really not) correct -- The civil action you are taking is "Playing an Action Card" which has the benefit of giving you a discount on the wonder. Masonry, et al only give you the benefit if you take the "Building a Wonder" civil action.

The card is pretty clear on what it does -- it says "Build One Stage of a Wonder and pay X less".

Geoff

(edited to further confuse those who read this thread later)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Menlo Park
CA
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Scott is in fact incorrect. Geoffrey is correct, except where he said that Scott was correct.

You cannot use an Engineering Genius card to discount one of the two sections you build with your Masonry special ability. You either use Engineering Genius to spend an action to build one section at a discount or you use Masonry to spend an action to build two sections at full price.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Murmak
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave is correct about Scott's incorrectness and Geoffrey's correctness and correct about Geoffrey incorrectness about Scott's correctness.

This is fun laugh
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You know, it actually explains this on the back of the rulebook, page 20... just sayin'...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Filip Murmak
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
out4blood wrote:
You know, it actually explains this on the back of the rulebook, page 20... just sayin'...


Why to read the rulebook when you can ask at BGG, right?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Seitz
United States
Glen Allen
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Like water spilled on the ground, which cannot be recovered, so we must die. But God does not take away life; instead, he devises ways so that a banished person may not remain estranged from him. 2 Sam 14:14
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
karel_danek wrote:
out4blood wrote:
You know, it actually explains this on the back of the rulebook, page 20... just sayin'...


Why to read the rulebook when you can ask at BGG, right?


That way you don't come across like Mr. Dumas
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.