Recommend
9 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Pax Romana» Forums » Variants

Subject: HANNIBAL IS DEFEATED - Campaign Scenario for Pax Romana rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,
First of all, sorry for my poor English. I'm doing the best I can :-)

As I said in this thread: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/294379, I've been working on creating a new and shorter Campaign Scenario for Pax Romana beginning in 200 BC. Obviously, Rome was much more potent than it was by the years covered in turn I. However, some key events helped the Romans to dominate the entire Mediterranean, events that I think could be altered in any Pax Romana session.
So, here is the scenario. It assumes an approximately historical status, but things doesn't have to keep to what happened in the II century BC. Romans could, for example, leave Greece to deal with tribes or barbarians, or whatever.

Of course, special rules and parameters have been set to improve game balance. They have been kept really simple, without changes in cards or things difficult to remember.

Stability levels and initial treasures have been set attending to game balance, rather than to historical reasons.
Flexibility -specially for Rome- has been added by not forcing an entire unit disposition; players have an initial income & manpower phase to choose where to deploy their units. To avoid trouble, you can have the players deploy their units in the same order as the initial play order of the scenario: Rome, Greece, Carthage, The East.

Finally, the scenario is not playtested yet. I've uploaded it here to receive comments, criticism and suggestions. Enjoy and let me know, please.

Link to PDF file: http://www.box.net/shared/l597ns2kgg



HANNIBAL IS DEFEATED
A Campaign Scenario for PAX ROMANA


Introduction

200 BC. The Second Punic War has finished, with disastrous consequences for Carthage and seeing how Rome has become the dominant power in western Mediterranean. Numidia is a real threat for Carthage in the East, and the penalty imposed by Rome could prevent them from recovering. Sure they no longer have any possessions in Iberia, but the Carthaginian people are strong, and their commercial resources bright, so in short time they will become wealthy once again. In the east, Antiochus III of the Seleucid Empire –victorious in his campaign against Parthians and even India- and Philip V of Macedonia have been allied in order to take away from Egypt its Anatolian lands and Aegean islands. Egypt’s king, Ptolemy V, was only a child and could do nothing to stop his two enemies from snatching his lands.

The intended goal of this scenario is to provide players with a shorter campaign game that spans along 6 turns of play instead of 10, thus giving them the chance to end the game in one (long) session. The game's mood is also changed, since Rome is no more that puny nation it is in scenarios V and VI, but the greatest mediterranean power. Players will have to deal with it in an appropriate manner (usually being aggressive during the first turns).

The situation seems desperate for Carthage at start, but this scenario gives it the chance to recover from the 2nd Punic War disaster. Here we assume that the Mauritanian numids were the key in Carthage’s ultimate fall, and provides the latter with means to change its historical fate.

Historically, Rome and Macedonia went to war in 200 BC, ending with Macedonian defeat by 197 BC thanks mainly to roman elephants. Rome doesn’t have to do this in this scenario, though it is prepared for that purpose.



Scenario Setup

Players: Rome, Greece, Carthage, The East.

Start and End: the scenario starts in phase A of Turn V (200-175 BC), and goes through six turns to the end of Turn X (75-50 BC). There will be no automatic victory conditions.

Activation markers: Rome (4), Carthage (4), Greece (4), The East (4).

Tribal units: populate all tribal spaces unoccupied after the deployment of the four powers.

Leaders: all leaders are selected as per the initial deployment. Next turn you start drawing.

Initial Play Order: Rome, Greece, Carthage, The East.

Duration: the game must last until the end of turn X.

Independents

Pergamum:
• 3 HI in Pergamum
• 2 HI, 1 Galley Squadron in Abydos (Ionia)
• 1 LI in Cyzicus;
Rhodes:
• 2 HI, 3 Galley Squadrons; Rhodes is a City

Ptolemaic Egypt:
• 4 HI, 2 LI, 1 Cav, 1 EL, 2 GS, 2-5 Leader in Alexandria; Alexandria is a City
• 2 LI, 1 GS in Pelusium
• 1HI, 3 LI, 1-4 Leader in Memphis; Memphis is a Town

Ptolemaic Egypt follows the rules provided with scenario VI.

The Numids:
Numidia –apart from being a province in Pax Romana- was a nation to the west of Carthage that was vassalized by Rome, and was the most important agent in Carthage’s disgrace. Years before, numidian cavalry had been decisive in Hannibal’s successful campaign against Rome.
• 2 HI, 2 Cav, 2-5 leader in Iol Caesarea (you can use the barbarian leader)
• 3 HI, 1 LI, 1 Cav in Hippo Regius
• 1 LI, 1 Cav in Thevestis
• 1 LI in Cirta
• 1 LI in Tingi
• 1 LI in Lambesis

You can use roman or any independent counters to represent the numids. Just remember they are not Roman.

Gauls (Barbarian Invasion in Cisalpina):
Use Barbarian tokens to represent these.
See special rule “F” for how to deal with Cisalpine Gauls.
• 10 BI, 2 BCav, 2-5 Gallic Leader in Mediolanum
• 4 BI, 1 BCav in Taurinorum
• 2 BI in Parma

Rome
Rome_____________________City; 1 LG, 1-5 Leader
Capua____________________Town;
Tarentum_________________City;
Saguntum_________________Town; 2 LG, 1 GS
Carthago Nova____________Town;
Syracuse_________________City;
Lilybaeium(West Sicily)__Town;
Dyrrhachium(Macedonia)____3 LG, 1LI, 2 EL, 2-4 Leader, 2 GS
Placentia(Cisalpina)______1 LG
Brundisium(Bruttium)______1 GS

Garrisons: Aleria (Corsica), Caralis and Olbia (Sardinia), Messana (East Sicily), Melita, Emporiae and Barcino (Tarraconensis), Malaca and Corduba (Baetica)

Treasury: 1T. 2nd Punic War drained Rome’s treasury.

Stability level: +2

Initial control: Rome controls the following:
• Territories: The Sicilies (1T). Gauls deny control of Cisalpina(*).
• Home provinces: Italia, Bruttium (3T total)
• Other provinces: Corsica, Sardinia, West Sicily, East Sicily, Melita (0T), Baetica (5T total)
• Towns: Placentia, Capua, Saguntum, Lilybaeum (4T total)
• Cities: Rome, Tarentum, Syracuse (9T total)

(*): game starts with the historical Gallic invasion of Galia Cisalpina. See special rule “F” below.


Carthage
Carthage_____City; 1 HI, 1-3 Leader, 1 GS (a)
Utica________City; 1 LI, 1 Cav, 1-2 Leader
Thapsus______Town;

Garrisons: Thugga, Leptis Magna

(a): Rome forced Carthage to reduce its fleet down to 10 Galleys.

Treasury: 4T.

Stability level: +3

Initial control: Carthage controls the following:
• Territories: none
• Home provinces: Carthago, Lybia (2T total)
• Other provinces: none
• Towns: Thapsus (1T total)
• Cities: Carthage, Utica (6T total)

NOTE: keep in mind special rule “B” when calculating income totals.


Greece
Athens___________City; 1 HI, 2-4 leader, 1 GS
Pella____________Town; 1 HI, 1 LI, 2 Cav, 1-4 leader
Corinth__________Town;
Ephesus__________Town; 1 HI, 1 GS
Sardis(Ionia)____Town; 1 LI
Miletus (Ionia)__1 HI, 1 LI
Thessalonice_____1 GS

Garrisons: Massilia (Narbonensis), Cnossos (Crete), Lesbos & Chios (Ionia), Samos (Ionia)

Treasury: 2T.

Stability level: +1

Initial control: Greece controls the following:
• Territories: Greece (1T)
• Home provinces: Thrace, Macedonia, Attica, Peloponnes, Aegean Islands (5T total)
• Other provinces: Crete, Ionia (3T)
• Towns: Pella, Corinth, Sardis, Ephesus (4T total)
• Cities: Athens (3T total)


The East
Antioch_________City; 2 HI, 1 LI, 1 Cav, 1 GS, 2-5 Leader(a)
Damascus________City; 1 LI, 1-4 Leader
Jerusalem_______Town; 1 HI
Tripolis________Town; 1 LI
Tyre____________Town; 1 GS
Xanthus(Lycia)__1 LI

Garrisons: Myra (Lycia), Seleucia and Tarsus (Cilicia).

Treasury: 5T(b).

Stability level: +3

Initial control: The East controls the following:
• Territories: The East (1T)
• Home provinces: Syria (2T)(c), Judea, Cyprus (4T total)
• Other provinces: Lycia, Cilicia (2T total)
• Towns: Jerusalem, Tyre, Tripolis (3T total)
• Cities: Antioch, Damascus (6T total)

(a): Antiochus III, returning victorious from Parthia.
(b): See Special Rule “G”, Baghdad Booty Call
(c): Syria has an income of 2T for this scenario.


Special Rules
(mandatory)


The following are the special rules you must apply when playing this scenario.

A. (Rome, Carthage) Carthage’s Punishment
Carthage must pay tribute to Rome after the 2nd Punic War. It has to be paid during the turns V and VI. In each of these turns during the income phase, Carthage may pay 5T to Rome, as a war penalty. Carthage can quit paying at any time –as soon as turn V-.

In exchange, Rome cannot take any actions against Carthage or Carthage domain while tribute is paid. Furthermore, the turn in which Carthage quits from paying tribute (or turn VII), Rome cannot take any action against Carthage until the latter has played his first activation.

B. (Carthage) Carthage’s Commercial Supremacy
Due to their commercial advantage, Carthaginians receive more gold than normal. They get:
• +1T for each province, non-damaged city or non-damaged town owned
• +1D6 additional talents from external commerce in turn V; +2D6 additional talents later
• Activation chits and Galley Squadrons maintenance cost nothing to Carthage

All these advantages are maintained until Carthage attacks or is attacked by The Numids, Rome, Greece or The East. Since then on, Carthage’s only bonus will be +1 additional talent for each non-damaged City owned.

C. (Carthage) Carthage’s emergency hiring
Once in the game as a minor movement, Carthage can execute an emergency mercenary hiring. It won’t cost Carthage any talents, and may purchase mercenary units with a value of up to 6T. He may purchase any kind of unit: HI, LI, or Cav. They must be placed in any carthaginian home space in a province controlled by Carthage as a single stack (may be combined with existing carthaginian units).

D. (East, Greece) Antiochus III and Philip V agreement
The East and Greece cannot undertake actions against each other at all in the first turn of play (turn V).

E. (Rome, Carthage) The Numids
Numidia –apart from being a province in Pax Romana- was a nation to the west of Carthage that was vassalized by Rome, and was the most important agent in Carthage’s disgrace. Years before, numidian cavalry had been decisive in Hannibal’s successful battles against Rome.

Numids start in turn V as an independent nation, though friendly to Rome. Each turn Numidia remains independent in the game, Rome receives 1T from tributes.
Rome can use any of its major or minor moves to activate the Numids to move and/or attack.

Numids must always have more than half his battle points in the province of Numidia. If they are attacked and this condition is not longer met, they cannot move troops out of Numidia.

Numids can't stack more than two units in mountain spaces.

Numids cannot attack Carthage while this pays tribute to Rome.

Carthage can attack Numidia at any moment in the game, but that action immediatly lifts the restrictions applied to Rome’s military actions against Carthage. Carthage hasn’t got to pay any more tributes to Rome, if it attacks Numidia on turn V. Carthage’s invasion of Numidia or Mauritania regions is considered an attack to The Numids. Since then on, Rome and Numidia are considered allies; roman units can enter Mauretania and Numidia and up to two roman counters can be stacked together with the numids. No roman leader can command a stack of numid units.

Carthage can defeat The Numids by two different triggers: if the numids no more control any province (remember, Numidia and Mauretania are Carthage Home Provinces), or if they lose one half or more of their battle points on the map. At that very moment, numidian units remaining on the map are substituted for Carthaginian units of the same type; the Numids are no more an independent nation.

If, by the end of turn VIII, Numidia is still an independent nation, it makes a permanent alliance with Rome. All numidian units now are Roman. Substitute them if you used not-roman counters to represent the numids.

F. (Rome) Cisalpine Gauls
At the start of the game, Italy is suffering the invasion of some Gallic peoples, and Rome is encouraged to drive them back. Treat this as a regular Gallic Barbarian Invasion for the first turn, except that the Gauls don’t leave play at the end of turn, can be split in more than one stack, and stay on the board indefinitely until Rome (or other) defeats them.

As long as any Gaul units from the initial deployment remain in Cisalpina, they deny control of this province to Rome or any other power.

G. (East) Baghdad Booty Call
Each Turn, when the East collects Income, the East Player must roll one die (1d6) on the Baghdad Booty Call Table to see what events to the east—in Persia and beyond—have on The East Player. Some dierolls represent peace and prosperity, some represent hard times, corruption and, occasionally, yet another outbreak of warfare between the Seleucids and the Ptolemaic Egyptians. Whatever the result, it is applied immediately.

Baghdad Booty Call Table
DR Result
1…Add 7T to Treasury, and Successor Wars erupt.**
2…Add 5T to Treasury
3…Add 3T to Treasury
4…Subtract 2T from Treasury, and Successor Wars erupt.**
5…Subtract 3T from Income/Treasury
6…Subtract 5T from Income/Treasury

In this scenario, Baghdad Booty Call must not be checked in the first turn of play (turn V). It is supposed to have already been called.

Special Rules
(optional)


The following are the special rules that you may apply when playing this scenario. They are essentially those presented in scenario VI with some slight changes.

H. The Quarreling Greeks
At the end of the Income Phase, after adding his Income to his Treasury, the Greek player rolls one die (1d6). The result is halved (rounded down), and it is the number of Talents deducted from the Greek Treasury.

I. The Carthaginian Council
This rule is only to be applied when Carthage controls its entire home territory and there are no enemy units in any home spaces.

Keep track of the net number of Stability Points gained by the Carthaginian player each Game-Turn (i.e., the number at the start of the turn subtracted from the number at the end of the turn). At the end of the Income Phase, after adding his Income to his Treasury, the Carthaginian player automatically loses 1T for every Stability Point gained. In addition, Carthage loses 1T for every non-Home Territory it controls (resulting in no income for controlling non-Home Territories).

K. Civil War, Type 2
The instant a power gains control of its four Territories at one time (the four can include his Home territory), its success has placed it in danger of Civil War. Immediately, and then afterwards upon drawing his first Activation Marker each Game-Turn, the player controlling that power immediately rolls two dice (2d6). To the result, he adds the number of Territories he controls. If the result is 12 or lower, the game proceeds normally. If the result is higher than 12, Civil War has broken out and the player immediately:

• Subtracts two (–2) from his Stability Level;
• Rolls 1d6 for the allegiance of each Space occupied by the Player, including galley squadrons. If the result is odd, he removes at least half of the Land units and half the galley squadrons (rounded up in both cases) from that Space. For any Space that is made vacant by such a removal, he places a garrison unit therein. If the die-roll result is even, that space remains untouched.
• Removes all Leaders he has and replaces them with only one, newly (and randomly) drawn Leader, who starts in his capital.

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Many many thanks, Jose. This sounds most interesting, and I like the looks of the special rules (particularly the Numids, although Carthaginian tribute is also a nice touch).

Let's get four people to play it out on Vassal - if it works, perhaps we can include it in the second edition (if Jose agrees, of course).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nrandall wrote:

Let's get four people to play it out on Vassal - if it works, perhaps we can include it in the second edition (if Jose agrees, of course).


Wow! Of course I agree Neil. It would be great!

By the way, surely some adjustments will be required in the initial number of units and some other details, but that's what playtesting is for, isn't it?

Thank you Neil.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Yes, playtesting is for that kind of adjustment. At any rate, Jose, we'll give this one a try and see how it goes. It certainly does look promising.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jones
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Looks very nice. If playtesting finds the Romans still quite powerful, might I suggest strengthening the tribes, particularly in Spain. Historically, this was a real headache for Rome - you could even change some event cards to represent revolts or uprisings in the area.

I also notice you have Rome controlling Melita, but no garrision, If they do hold it, would they not control the Sicilies territory?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
markeajones wrote:
Looks very nice. If playtesting finds the Romans still quite powerful, might I suggest strengthening the tribes, particularly in Spain. Historically, this was a real headache for Rome - you could even change some event cards to represent revolts or uprisings in the area.


Indeed I sketched Numantia as a fixed "8" or "10" tribe denying control of the province as long as it existed... But with greeks receiving 16T -and maybe also an aggressive East player- in the east front, Gauls in Cisalpina, and Carthage threatening the west front, I thought conquering Iberia was already a quite difficult challenge.

markeajones wrote:
I also notice you have Rome controlling Melita, but no garrision, If they do hold it, would they not control the Sicilies territory?


Ehmmm.... yes, you're absolutely right! One garrison in Melita then... blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jones
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
What do you think about adding two tribal markers in Galatia to represent the by now settled Galatians in the area?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
markeajones wrote:
What do you think about adding two tribal markers in Galatia to represent the by now settled Galatians in the area?


It's a nice idea for an additional optional rule.

But take into account it would make more difficult Greece's and East's development, which would benefit Rome directly. And without the proper playtesting, I think any additional delay in the affairs of Rome's opponents is very risky for game balance.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Jones
United Kingdom
Cardiff
Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Yeah, that is a problem, but perhaps a reward could be granted for defeating the Galatians? A stability boost or the ability to hire some 'free' mercenaries perhaps? Both?

It makes historical sense as Antigonus Gonatas, Antiochus I and Attalos I all declared themselves 'Soter' after defeating the Galatians, parading themselves as the saviours of Greek civilization. The Galatians themselves were originally mercenaries brought to Asia Minor by Nikomedes I of Bithynia and were employed in numerous Hellenistic armies.

Something to try out in playtesting perhaps.

I set up a game in Vassal, looking to give it a go this weekend. Is it possible for Rome to gain control of Spain without actually fighting the tribes? The routes open make it appear possible.. without Carthage to oppose the occupation of Spain this could cause trouble and perhaps the rejigging or addition of 1 or 2 tribal markers could prevent this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, maybe it would be a good idea to place one tribal counter in Numantia and another one in Bergidum.
About Galatians, I'm not so sure.

In any case, let me know about playtesting results, please. If you find those rules are needed, I'll include them. Thank you very much, Mark.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Chambers
Canada
Alliston
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Under the special rule B. you say Carthage does not pay for galleys. Do you mean does not pay maintenance?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Noman wrote:
Under the special rule B. you say Carthage does not pay for galleys. Do you mean does not pay maintenance?


Yes I do. It's just a way to balance things a bit, but it could be assumed that Carthage keeps his fleets hidden in port until it's the moment to attack, if you want to find an explanation for the rule.

Edited the rule to clarify it's the maintenance cost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
isildur wrote:
Noman wrote:
Under the special rule B. you say Carthage does not pay for galleys. Do you mean does not pay maintenance?


Yes I do. It's just a way to balance things a bit, but it could be assumed that Carthage keeps his fleets hidden in port until it's the moment to attack, if you want to find an explanation for the rule.

Edited the rule to clarify it's the maintenance cost.


We'll have to see why this is necessary. The principle behind the rule is that historically fleets were hugely expensive to maintain - the 1T maintenance costs reflects that. This change would mean more fleets in the game, and given their power that could be a major issue. So I'd recommend trying the scenario without this special rule to see if it's needed, rather than the other way around.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jose Fernandez
Spain
Valencia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nrandall wrote:
isildur wrote:
Noman wrote:
Under the special rule B. you say Carthage does not pay for galleys. Do you mean does not pay maintenance?


Yes I do. It's just a way to balance things a bit, but it could be assumed that Carthage keeps his fleets hidden in port until it's the moment to attack, if you want to find an explanation for the rule.

Edited the rule to clarify it's the maintenance cost.


We'll have to see why this is necessary. The principle behind the rule is that historically fleets were hugely expensive to maintain - the 1T maintenance costs reflects that. This change would mean more fleets in the game, and given their power that could be a major issue. So I'd recommend trying the scenario without this special rule to see if it's needed, rather than the other way around.


Just to clarify, remember this rule ends in turn VII at the most, possibly before if Carthage attacks the Numids in any of the first two turns.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Thanks - I totally ignored that bit. I should learn to read first and ask questions later!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.