Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Return of the Heroes» Forums » Rules

Subject: Broom again (sorry) ... are there official clarifications? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Grundy
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I realise there have been several conversations before.

In particular, it appears that (officially):
- The broom *is* your movement... no movement steps are taken before or after "using" the broom
- You can't take a horse or cart (all as per Glossary page 10 under Movement Points)
- The broom (on a roll of 1) takes the character with it to K2. (Glossary, "Stubborn Magic Broomstick" says after the broom flies to K2 the hero may fly off from there (if they don't roll another 1).

I can't find an official statement in rules ... maybe someone can read FAQs?
- You roll your Magic trial (at -2) each time or only the first time you use the broom?
- If you fail your -2 Magic trial (and hence the Broom doesn't work) can you then move with your movement points?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is clarified in the official german FAQ, point 9:

"9. Die Funktionsweise des „Hexenbesen“ wurde in der Spielmarkenübersicht vergessen. So geht’s: Um den Besen aufnehmen zu können, muss mir eine um –2 (minus zwei) modifizierte Probe auf meinen Magiewert gelingen. Dies kann ich – wie jede Probe – nur einmal pro Runde versuchen. Habe ich den Hexenbesen aufgenommen, kann ich ihn jede Runde zur Bewegung – anstatt meiner normalen Bewegung - einsetzen: Er bringt mich auf ein beliebiges beiges (nicht rotes, grünes oder gelbes) Feld einer senkrecht oder waagerecht (nicht diagonal) angrenzenden Gebietskarte – dieses Feld darf auch besetzt sein (Marke, Herrenhaus, andere Spieler). Ich muss allerdings vor der Benutzung des Besens würfeln: Würfle ich eine 1, hat der Besen seinen eigenen Willen und kehrt – mit mir – zum Ort seiner Herstellung zurück, dem Hexenhaus bei K2. Meine Bewegung ist in jedem Fall nach der Benutzung des Besens beendet. Zur Verdeutlichung: Ein Spieler kann sich nicht sowohl normal bewegen als auch den Hexenbesen benutzen: Er muss sich für eine von beiden Möglichkeiten entscheiden"

You have to succeed a magic trial (-2) to pick the broom up. As usual, you only get one try per turn. After this, you don't need a magic try to use it, you only roll whether it is stubborn.

I don't know whether it is clear from the english rules: If you are taken to the witch hut (K2), this is your complete movement for that turn. You can fly (or move) from there again on your next turn.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.