Tide of Iron» Forums » Rules

Subject: Help!!! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Herminio Laureano
Portugal
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi everyone, i am new to this, and have entered the world of hex boardgames last week, with a present of my wife, the game TIDE of IRON.
But the first time i tried to play the game... No way, the rule book that comes with the game makes my head blow off, the explinations are complicatted, without any straight line of course. If someone who isn't new to this game please give me a guide line of how to play the game, i have been looking at other boarg games like Memoir'44 and the rules manual is very simple, very explanitory, and very easy to learn. Of course the games are diferently played, but the rules book explains very clearly the way to play the game.
So if someone could help me, so me and my friends could start enjoing the game.Please take note i have no experience what so ever in this type of game, so be paciente and explain me if possible like i was a 2 year old, step by step.
Thank's everyone in advance.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Universal Head
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Professional creative visual communication: www.universalhead.com
badge
Game summaries and reference sheets: www.headlesshollow.com
mbmbmbmbmb
Try my rules summary:

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/file/info/24751

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Dooley
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I would definitely use the Universal Head's guide.

With that being said, you need to understand that this isn't exactly the best game to jump into wargaming with. It is a upper medium-weight game, whereas Memoir 44 is a lot simpler.

I commend your wife on the gift, but if you don't have a whole lot of experience with these kinds of systems, I'd almost recommend that you back burner Tide of Iron until you get some lighter systems under your belt.