Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

FAB: The Bulge» Forums » Rules

Subject: Definition of 'vacant' area? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
German Mike
United States
Hudson
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
What is the definition of a vacant area? Is it an area without units (blocks) or without units & assets?

I am asking because roadblocks [4.34] & defended roadblocks [4.35] can only be constructed in vacant areas. Is an area only containing an garrison considered to be vacant?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An area containing a garrison (or task force) is not considered vacant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So similarly, an area with a defended roadblock or the van Heydte (sp?) paratroopers is NOT vacant? I ask because we had a situation where van Heydte provided the only supply link for a German unit in Vieviers -- without the paratroopers, US troops in an adjacent uncontested area would have blocked supply. It occurred to us that a similar situation could occur with defended roadblocks.

True for garrisons/task forces/defended roadblocks.

True also, to an extent, for von der Heydte, the difference being that an asset alone cannot change control of an area, so while vdH occupies the area, it would not allow the tracing of supply through its area, as the area remains Allied-controlled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In this instance, the area was German-controlled because of Panzers rolling through on their way to Verviers

Ah, in that case vdH should have been relieved and sent to the used box as soon as the panzer unit entered (see 16.11, second bullet under result 1=Asset landed intact)

Every decision is deliciously agonizing. The game really captures the difficulties for both sides -- thanks for a great game, Rick and John.

Your welcome, I'm happy you're enjoying it!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.