Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Heroscape Marvel: The Conflict Begins» Forums » Rules

Subject: Silver Surfer Hyperspeed query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Newsham
England
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With the Silver Surfer is it 'legal' to move normally, then attack normally, then escape up to 5 spaces using Hyperspeed? If allowed, then presumably he is liable for leaving attacks. Whilst under the Stealth Flying it states that he does not suffer leaving attacks if engaged, this would be use of another special power.

Is there a rules lawyer out there that can help clarify?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Heinzmann
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Have you tried turning if off and on again?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Stellmach
United States
Arlington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Newsh wrote:
With the Silver Surfer is it 'legal' to move normally, then attack normally, then escape up to 5 spaces using Hyperspeed?

That's what the Hyper Speed 5 ability says it does: lets you move 5 spaces after taking your turn.

Quote:
If allowed, then presumably he is liable for leaving attacks.

I don't see why he would take leaving attacks. His Stealth Flying ability reads to me as if it applies whenever he moves, and Hyper Speed 5 lets him move.

Quote:
Whilst under the Stealth Flying it states that he does not suffer leaving attacks if engaged, this would be use of another special power.

I see nothing in the rules about two special abilities not being able to apply to the same action (except for the bit where you have to choose between making a normal attack and using one of your special attacks, which isn't germane here).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Newsham
England
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the response - seemed a bit sneeky! A useful tactic then...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Jordal
United States
Austin
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Ike Clanton painted by me for Wild West Exodus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There would be an exception to this if you were using the Glyph of Ravenig, his stealth flying wouldn't work.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Newsham
England
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
steamrunner wrote:
Have you tried turning if off and on again?


...after Tim's clear response it seems RTFM would've been a good idea too, eh?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H. S. Funk

South Carolina
msg tools
mb
Newsh wrote:
Thanks for the response - seemed a bit sneeky! A useful tactic then...


Yep. That's why we've taken to calling the Heroscape version of the character "the Sneaky Surfer."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.