Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Catan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Victory Point cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ted Williams
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
A quick question of rule interpretations. Recently, even though we've played probably 100 games of Settlers, people in our group have gotten the idea that one cannot play the victory point development cards on the turn during which they are purchased. Here's the situation that has arisen often:

Player X has 9 points at the beginning of her turn. She buys a development card (which just happens to be a VP). If she can play this card this turn, she wins. If she can't play it immediately (similar to the other development cards), this allows others (who often have 8 or 9 points themselves) a chance to win before the dice get back around to X. What is public opinion on this? Several of us, including a lawyer in our group, deem that the rules don't allow for immediate play of a VP card, but tradition and other posts on this site seem to speak to the contrary. Thanks for your input.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Victory Point cards
AlyoshaK (#68530),

VP cards do not need to abide by the restrictions placed on other development cards - they can be played immediately and you can play more than one of them in a turn. Essentially you can reveal all of your VP cards at once as soon as they are enough to give you the win.

-MMM
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Paull
United States
Cumming
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re:Victory Point cards
AlyoshaK (#68530),

exactly as above... Kosmos rules clearly state that VP cards can be revealed in order to win the game. any number... including after playing a development card.

--JP
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Wills
Australia
Panania
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Victory Point cards
AlyoshaK (#68530),

VPs are exceptions in two main ways. The exceptions are easy to overlook if you don't read the rules properly.

1. Victory Point cards can be played on the turn they are purchased.
2. Multiple Victory Point cards can be played in a turn (even if another Development Card has already been played).

See page 5 of http://www.boardgamegeek.com/viewfile.php3?fileid=4164 .

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ozgur ozubek
Turkey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Victory Point cards
We've been playing with restricted card play (thus, none can exercise any development card drawn in that turn) and it's pretty challenging.. so that the game does not permit any reasource rich guys to harrass card deck for a quick victory...


magic the gathering has a similar rule... summoned creatures cant attack within the same turn...(summon sickness)...

Of course, it's all about comprimise. as long as the group agrees... any rule can be bend...others can be broken
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Yiu
United States
Alhambra
California
flag msg tools
The general interpretation that I've always gone by is that victory points don't need to be "played". They simply contribute to your point total (albeit secretly.) Thus when you get to a total of 10 points, showing and hidden, you immediately reveal the victory points and end the game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've a slightly different question on the playing of VP cards.

Supposing Player A is on 9 pts and he bought a Dev Card this round which turns out to be a 1VP card. Supposing the other players are on the following pts
- Player B: 6 pts
- Player C: 7 pts
- Player D: 5 pts

Now assuming there's a league where points are awarded for being 1st, 2nd, etc and Player A wants Player B to be 2nd and not Player C.

If Player A reveals his 1VP card, game ends and Player C will be the 1st Runner-up.

So can Player A chose not to reveal his 1VP card, keeps on playing and wait for Player B to overtake Player C, and then reveal his 1VP card for a 1-2 podium finish with Player B?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jack208 wrote:
I've a slightly different question on the playing of VP cards.

Supposing Player A is on 9 pts and he bought a Dev Card this round which turns out to be a 1VP card. Supposing the other players are on the following pts
- Player B: 6 pts
- Player C: 7 pts
- Player D: 5 pts

Now assuming there's a league where points are awarded for being 1st, 2nd, etc and Player A wants Player B to be 2nd and not Player C.

If Player A reveals his 1VP card, game ends and Player C will be the 1st Runner-up.

So can Player A chose not to reveal his 1VP card, keeps on playing and wait for Player B to overtake Player C, and then reveal his 1VP card for a 1-2 podium finish with Player B?

You're certainly free to not reveal your victory point card... but that's kind of silly to play kingmaker for second place when you've already got first.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grzegorz Kobiela
Germany
Hanover
Lower Saxony
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Editor at Lookout Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jack208 wrote:
I've a slightly different question on the playing of VP cards.

Supposing Player A is on 9 pts and he bought a Dev Card this round which turns out to be a 1VP card. Supposing the other players are on the following pts
- Player B: 6 pts
- Player C: 7 pts
- Player D: 5 pts

Now assuming there's a league where points are awarded for being 1st, 2nd, etc and Player A wants Player B to be 2nd and not Player C.

If Player A reveals his 1VP card, game ends and Player C will be the 1st Runner-up.

So can Player A chose not to reveal his 1VP card, keeps on playing and wait for Player B to overtake Player C, and then reveal his 1VP card for a 1-2 podium finish with Player B?

You've won the game whether you play your card or not. If it was A's only dev card and he reveals it some turns later, he'll be probably disqualified as he won the game earlier, but did not announce it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C.K. Au
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ponton wrote:
You've won the game whether you play your card or not. If it was A's only dev card and he reveals it some turns later, he'll be probably disqualified as he won the game earlier, but did not announce it.

Hmm.. is this an official rule or just an opinion?

If this happens in the Settlers of Catan Championship, can we disqualify the player? Under which section of the rule??

Thnks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier G. Maroto
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, the "1 PV" cards scores for all the other players or only for the one that wins the game?

For example (3 players):

* Player A: 2 PV cards hidden
* Player B: 1 PV card hidden
* Player C: no cards


Player B builds a city and scores a point to reach 9 PV, and with the 1 PV card, he wins the game.
Player A have 4 points.
Player C have 5 points.

Player A can score his 2 PV cards to let him to get 6 points and therefore be in second place?, or only Player B (the winner) can score the PV cards and Player A finishes in third place?

Thanks!

PD: excuse my english.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonty
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scherzo, I believe in your example, it's player B, A, and then C. The hidden points are always there, you do not have to announce it to be valid, except just to win. So B reveals he/she has won, A reveals he/she has a total of x VPs adding the hidden cards, and C reveals he/she has only the points on the board.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mik Svellov
Denmark
Copenhagen N
EU
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Petah wrote:
The general interpretation that I've always gone by is that victory points don't need to be "played". They simply contribute to your point total (albeit secretly.) Thus when you get to a total of 10 points, showing and hidden, you immediately reveal the victory points and end the game.
Correct - except that a player can only win during his own turn.
A player may announce his victory before he rolls the dice - or at any other time during his turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Javier G. Maroto
Spain
Madrid
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, thanks for the replies. In my last game we played in the way that only the winner can use the "1 PV" cards, and only in the turn he can win the game with these cards, all other players don't and lost them.

In next games maybe we will agree before start the way that these cards should be used.

Saludos
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Wilson
United States
Greenville
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Scherzo wrote:
Hi, the "1 PV" cards scores for all the other players or only for the one that wins the game?

For example (3 players):

* Player A: 2 PV cards hidden
* Player B: 1 PV card hidden
* Player C: no cards


Player B builds a city and scores a point to reach 9 PV, and with the 1 PV card, he wins the game.
Player A have 4 points.
Player C have 5 points.

Player A can score his 2 PV cards to let him to get 6 points and therefore be in second place?, or only Player B (the winner) can score the PV cards and Player A finishes in third place?

Thanks!

PD: excuse my english.

I've played in the Mayfair Settlers of Catan World/North American Championship Qualifiers the last few years running at Origins, and this situation has occurred multiple times in the games I've been in.

The way this situation was officially scored is exactly the way you described. The points are there and still count, whether revealed or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls