If it is my turn, and I have moved my troops into battles in two adjacent areas, can I exploit in one battle to advance my remaining troops into the other (using all of them together in the next battle)?
If so, this would raise a significant rules issue if I exploit during the allies' turn. If the allies move troops into two adjacent areas occupied by me, I can exploit in one battle and after defeating all attackers (using my defense rating) I can advance. But if I advance into the adjacent area (with the enemy units present to join the battle, I would have some units defending (ie using the defense rating for the troops who were already present) at the beginning of the turn) and some who are attacking (as exploiting troops use their attack rating in the subsequent battle even during the allies' turn).
Is there anything in the rules to clarify what to do in this situation?
BTW this is one awesome game!
I don't have the rules in-hand as I write this, but it's my understanding that all battles happen at the same time. Any exploits AFTER that first round of battles would happen later. Otherwise units would be able to upgrade and travel back in time to the first round assaults.
In your situation I'd play it like this:
Conduct first battle, pause before exploiting
Conduct other battle, assess results
Carry out first exploit
You'd still have an advantage in that you have more "intel" to base your exploit movement on.