Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy Lanquist
United States
St Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have decided to attend GenCon in Indianapolis this summer from Aug 14-17. I have my badge and now need to make reservations for lodging. I plan to arrive by Amtrak.

Since I am new to GenCon and am totally unfamiliar with Indianapolis, I would like to solicit some help/advice from those of you who are veterans of GenCon, or those of you who are familiar with Indianapolis.

I would like to save some money on lodging if possible, since I may or may not have travelling companions to share the expenses. I am partial to public transportation, and notice that Indianapolis does have a public bus system (but no subway, I am told).

I am thinking one possibility would be to look for lodging outside of the downtown area but near the public bus routes and rely on public transit to get me to and from the GenCon convention. Do the buses run round the clock? What areas of Indianapolis should I seek lodging in (in terms of amenities available nearby, proximity to public transportation and relative safety) and what sections of the city should I avoid?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denise Lavely
United States
Carmel
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Speaking as an Indianapolis native who would LOVE to use public transportation herself, I really can't advise the Indy bus system for the most part. It doesn't go to very many parts of town, and the parts it goes to, are for the most part not very safe, or else are not any cheaper than what you'd find downtown next to the Convention Center. Sorry

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For any convention it usually best to stay at the convention hotel or a one within walking distance if you can't get in:

Reasons you will care: