Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Blackbeard» Forums » Rules

Subject: When Warships Attack (a question) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Szilagyi
United States
Parma
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's one which I think I know the answer to, but would still like some clarification, in case a new option is presenting itself.
From the rulebook
Rule 6.46a wrote:
If the Pirate's total is higher than the Warship's total the Pirate suffers 1 Combat Damage Hit and the Warship is removed from play. The Pirate must now proceed with whatever Action he was about to undertake.

However, in the preceeding rule (6.45, obviously) if the pirate escapes, all it says is that there's no battle. No mention of the 'Action that the Pirate was about to undertake' is made.

Is it then possible, if the Pirate escapes and there is no battle, to change your mind about the Pirate Action you were about to undertake, or must an Action (once announced) be carried out?

A case in which you might want to do this:
In a four-player game, it's player A's turn. Over the course of his actions, two of the three Anti-Pirate players have used their AP Action, and the third just used his AP action to attempt to Find and Engage Player A's pirate. He failed. Knowing that there are no further AP actions coming he may decide, instead of trying to Find/Loot a Merchant Ship, to attack the port instead.

Just a thought.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ehlers
United States
Mesa
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
An Anti-Pirate action is meant as an interrupt to a pirate action. It can occur before, during, or after that action. There's nothing in the rules that I remember seeing to suggest that the pirate player can change the declared action, just because it was interrupted by an Anti-Pirate action. Some of the anti-pirate actions can cancel the pirate players actions, such as when a warship interrupts and successfully attacks the pirate.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Randall
Canada
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Rob is correct. You can't change actions in mid-stream.

Thanks, Rob.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Klempa
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ZeroZilla wrote:
A case in which you might want to do this:
In a four-player game, it's player A's turn. Over the course of his actions, two of the three Anti-Pirate players have used their AP Action, and the third just used his AP action to attempt to Find and Engage Player A's pirate. He failed. Knowing that there are no further AP actions coming he may decide, instead of trying to Find/Loot a Merchant Ship, to attack the port instead.


Also keep in mind that in the case of a KC,
Quote:
during the course of that Player-Turn, that one KC may perform a KC Action against the specified Pirate each time that Pirate conducts one of the Actions listed in 10.3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.