Dan Mixer
United States
Brooksville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Link for the win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heh, just like the question said, How does this compare to Lock n' Load: Band of Heroes?

I have LnL and several mods for it, just wondered if CoH was worth getting in addition to having LnL.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since it doesn't come out before July, what you're going to hear about it is likely mostly to be from those who are already enthusiastic about the product.

Having said that - and not having any exposure to a playtest copy, myself - I'm excited about it. It looks clean, fast-playing, dynamic, with really great-looking graphics.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Jacobsson
Sweden
Upplands Vasby
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
CoH rules mostly clicked on the first read.
Are you a play tester for the game or where did you get the rules?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mixer
United States
Brooksville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Link for the win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, in LnL units can opportunity fire as units move, so they can mess up your enemies plans. Each unit can only do this once though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonjac wrote:
ekted wrote:
CoH rules mostly clicked on the first read.
Are you a play tester for the game or where did you get the rules?

I am helping to proof them. They aren't publicly available yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Appleton
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
Right, but isn't it true in LnL that a unit could move from cover to open to cover all in a single activation, and not be shot at in the open? If not, then I mis-remembered the rules.


Nope - moving units within LOS of enemy units are always considered spotted, so as long as there is a unit that isn''t "Ops complete" within range, it could fire on them, even if they moved into cover.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan McKinney
United States
El Segundo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Yes, in LnL the defender can interrupt movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill the Pill
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
TeufelHund wrote:
a unit that isn''t "Ops complete" within range, it could fire on them, even if they moved into cover.

But if "Ops complete" ekted is right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Mixer
United States
Brooksville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Link for the win!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is really the ONLY thing Tide of Iron has over LnL. In ToI machine guns can fire more then once per phase and are something you MUST eliminate before you can move infantry up. In LnL, once they fire and are ops complete, then they are done for the turn. I wish the LnL machine guns worked the same as ToI ones, but oh well.

That being said, I MUCH prefer LnL over ToI. In fact, we never play ToI anymore, just LnL.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Icedanno wrote:
This is really the ONLY thing Tide of Iron has over LnL. In ToI machine guns can fire more then once per phase and are something you MUST eliminate before you can move infantry up. In LnL, once they fire and are ops complete, then they are done for the turn. I wish the LnL machine guns worked the same as ToI ones, but oh well.

That being said, I MUCH prefer LnL over ToI. In fact, we never play ToI anymore, just LnL.

CoH units with machine guns (there are no support weapons counters) become "used" (flipped) after they complete their activation. However, they may still use Command Points, as well as some Action Cards, to move and/or fire. It's a nice compromise between being completely used up after a single action and ASL's slightly complex defensive fire system.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonas Jacobsson
Sweden
Upplands Vasby
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
jonjac wrote:
Are you a play tester for the game or where did you get the rules?

I am helping to proof them. They aren't publicly available yet.

Do you know if and when the rules will be available for download?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jonjac wrote:
ekted wrote:
jonjac wrote:
Are you a play tester for the game or where did you get the rules?

I am helping to proof them. They aren't publicly available yet.

Do you know if and when the rules will be available for download?

I suspect they will be eventually since they have a website all setup for such a purpose:

http://www.conflictofheroes.com/index.html
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guy Riessen
United States
Sebastopol
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
elbmc1969 wrote:
Yes, in LnL the defender can interrupt movement.

My bad then. I think I should delete my reply so as not to muddy this thread.


Looks like you decided to keep the water muddied? Completely misstating rules when comparing two systems helps no one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sprydle wrote:
Looks like you decided to keep the water muddied? Completely misstating rules when comparing two systems helps no one.

Done.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.