Popular Tags: [View All]
Edwin Priest
United States
Inverness
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Several months ago after my wife and I played Balloon Cup for the first time, I went back as I often do to BGG to clarify a few play questions. In doing so, I was struck by some of the negativity and poor ratings of this game that we both quite enjoyed. It got me to thinking in general about ratings here on BGG.

Now I am relatively new to this gaming thing. I love playing games, and will do so whenever I can. I obviously have games that I prefer to play, but I usually find playing games to be an enjoyable experience. I will play most games fairly willingly and my ranking of games reflects this. When I do rate the games I have played, I try to use BGG ranking system. A 6 means “will play sporadically if in the right mood”, so most games I play are at least a 7.

I am therefore a little dumbfounded by some of the game rankings here on BGG. Many games never make it past a 7, and some are even less. Do people really feel that these games are an “average game, slightly boring, take it or leave it,” (5), or “ok game, some fun or challenge at least, will play sporadically if in the right mood” (6). I know that everyone has their favorites, but in their own right do games really warrant a rating of 5 or 6 using these criteria. How bad is a game REALLY?

I am therefore curious as to how people see this. Am I living in some kind blind daze of ignorant euphoria here, enable to see the truth in how “bad” these games really are? Are there others out there like me, those happy-go-lucky ignoramuses who seemingly love everything?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul DeStefano
United States
Long Island
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
It's a Zendrum. www.zendrum.com
mbmbmbmbmb
ERPriest wrote:
I know that everyone has their favorites, but in their own right do games really warrant a rating of 5 or 6 using these criteria. How bad is a game REALLY?