Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Italia» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question: City Rebuild and Stacking Limit with Generals rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can Estrucans score the VP by rebuilding the ruin into city with the removal of the remaining only infantry unit? Do they still control the area after the rebuild without a unit in the area?

After movement, there are 2 Carthaginian Generals and 5 units on Lilybaeum (a clear area) with a city. Do they exceed the stacking limit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not control vacant areas unless it says so on your card. Killing your last man to build a city will therefore not allow you to win points for the city, unless you move more troops in from elsewhere...

You can have 5 units plus a leader attacking a clear area after movemnent. Additional leaders do not give extra stacking bonuses, but you can always attack with 1 more than the stacking limit of the area- so with 4 against clear areas- and then the leader is +1 during combat.

However, after combat, the stacking limit in the area is not affected by the leader and so you could only have 3 units in the area, or 4 if you declared it your capital. Again the second leader is irrelevant. And in all stacking cases cities are irrelevant.

How did you get 2 Carthaginian Generals in a single turn anyway?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, they arrive Lilybauem at different time. Anyway, after delcaring the place as capital, I think Lilybauem can stack up to 5 units (+3 clear +1 general +1 capital). So they are still safe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The general only boosts stacking limits while attacking, not after combat. So one unit would die.

edit: also, I'm not sure if you have noticed that Generals from the previous turn are removed from play at the beginning of that nation's next turn unless their card specifies they continue to be in play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Hung
Hong Kong
Wan Chai
Hong Kong
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh yes! Of course you are very right to both stacking limit and leader rules. I forgot that leader 1-turn only rule buried in the reinforcement rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karsten Engelmann
United States
Springfield
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Philip,

could you please point out to me the rule that says the General is removed at the beginning of the player's turn?

thanks!
Karsten
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alfonso Zamora
Spain
Madrid
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
7.2 Reinforcements:
Each leader staus on the game board (unless stated otherwise on the nation card) for only one game turn. He is removed at the beginning of phase 2 of the nation´s next turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.