Charlie Paull
United Kingdom
Nailsworth
Gloucestershire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been gaming now for about 30 years or so and have introduced many others both my own sex (female) and men to the hobby I love. I have noticed a different approach us girls have to that of the men and would like to share my experiences and see if others share them too.

There are a few women who will come to a new gaming group on their own for the first time, will start with their own log on to BGG almost immediately and dive right in with any and all kinds of games. These are in the minority.

Most, like me, take their time. We may be introduced by a partner and think, to begin with, that it is his hobby and we are just tagging along. We may be happy to go to conventions, but only if we play with the person we came with in every game. Alternatively, we may decide to stay home from the conventions and just go to the smaller friendlier local group where we know the people and there may be a higher proportion of other girls there. Maybe we’ll sit one game out and go and chat in the kitchen to the host’s wife, who isn’t taking part, for a while. To begin with, we tend to like less aggressive games, shorter ones with less back stabbing.

This all makes us sound like rather clingy, insecure individuals who don’t have the strength to stand on our own two feet and get out there with the boys. On the contrary, I think it makes us sound like very social people who feel it is rather rude to go off and leave the person you came with and sit down with strangers and deliberately stab them in the back. It takes many of us a little while to realise (as a gut feeling) that gamers like you to do that.