Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gareth
Switzerland
Zürich
Zürich
flag msg tools
badge
My ass is green, but I don't let it worry me.
mbmbmbmbmb
Games cannot be copyrighted under most international copyright laws. This means that you can make use of the basic idea of a game as long as you don't reproduce the existing rulebook/artwork which will be copyrighted.

This doesn't apply if some mechanism in the game is patented (e.g. "tapping" in Magic: The Gathering) but that is incredibly rare.

Smallprint: I am not a lawyer. I accept no responsibility if folowing my advice winds you up in jail. If it does, however, be sure to let me know - it'll make a great story down the pub ;-)
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
CapAp wrote:
I have created a game that is based heavily on an existing (but out-of-print) game's ruleset.

It is far more than a retheming or revision of the original game. All of the play materials are different, and even the rules of the parent game have been modified quite a bit. But there is still no mistaking that this game was inspired by the original one.

Can I make a new game entry for my creation, or is there some kind of copyright stuff to worry about, and I should just share it with my friends instead?

Is the game published? Or available on the web? I think it needs to be, to add it to the DB. Ask Scott Reed to be sure.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John So-And-So
United States
Fresno
California
flag msg tools
badge
You and the Cap'n make it hap'n
mbmbmbmbmb
I would make the game available right from the BGG page, just like many of the print and play games here.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Tullsen
United States
VANCOUVER
WA
flag msg tools
designer
48 hour turnaround time for Prototypes!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
CapAp wrote:
I would make the game available right from the BGG page, just like many of the print and play games here.

Nice!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide