Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jorge Arroyo
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Today I played a few turns of a solo game and didn't enjoy it as much as I expected after liking the regular game a lot.

There are two problems I found: First, you spend more time playing the system player's pirates than yours. Second, you have to make decisions for the system player's pirates.

The first is basically what I liked the least. I should have known just by reading the rules, but it wasn't until I started playing that it downed on me. I was looking for an experience much closer to the multiplayer game: take actions with my pirates and tackle the antipirate actions that are played on me as best as possible. Controlling other players' pirates wasn't on the equation...

The second is not that bad, because most of the time their actions are obvious, but sometimes you do have to make decisions like for example: When a new merchant appears in India and one SP pirate is 3-4 areas away but has 2 merchants close at hand that I know will be worth much less. Going to India means wasting time and possibly getting much more booty, etc... Those are the sort of decisions you have to take with your pirate, and I'd like the SP pirates to be more automated. BTW, now that pirates can choose between fleeing or fighting, I decided that SP pirates will always flee, as it made more sense and would speed the game.

Anyway, next time I think I'll try playing with just one pirate on the table (mine), no SP pirates, but 1 AP action against my pirate per action taken by my pirate (with the same rules and setup as the regular solo game). I'm not sure how challenging it will be, but I know I'll have more fun. This way the game will play faster as I won't have to concern myself with the SP pirates.

I'm not all disappointed because I see this more as something that I can fix and tailor to my own needs, and the game lends itself well to variants (I think) so it's no big deal.