Ramping up my reviewing.
Happily playing games for many, many years.
We played our first game tonight. To my understanding, non-asterisked events that occur are not removed from the game. That means that they may appear three times. It seemed strange that during the late war rounds, ear war events were happening for a third time. Is this the way it's suppose to be? Or did we misunderstood some rule?
Thanks in advance.
That's right. If you check the card descriptions, you'll find that some events even though they started in the early war, kept on happening. The Olympic Games is a good example of this... every four years, throughout the Early, Mid and Late Wars.
I think it's possible for an Early War event (like Europe Scoring) to come up 4 times in all if enough events are removed from play. Possibly five if you really burn through the deck.
In Turn 1 you have the initial deck
In Turn 3, the deck runs out and it gets reshuffled.
In Turn 4, the Mid War cards are added; the discards are not reshuffled in.
In about Turns 6-7, you probably need to shuffle again.
In Turn 8, the Late War cards come in.
In Turn 10, you might need to reshuffle.