Never play block wargames with a dentist, they have those little mirrors to peek behind the block.
1. According to the rules, a losing defender may capture an enemy-controlled city space that he retreats into. If he retreats into a fortress space, could he place a siege marker?
2. An army breaks a siege to attack another space and then loses and is forced to retreat to the original space. Can he replace the siege marker or must he wait till another activation?
1. No, the retreating force is not the active player. He would have to wait till it is his turn.
2. No once it is broken the player would have to wait till it is his turn again to start another siege.