Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: ROF rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: ROF [+] [View All]
Paul C
Canada
flag msg tools
Just picked up SK#2 because I couldn't get a hold of SK#1 and I'm a little confused about ROF. I'm sure it's explained somewhere in the rules and I've just missed it, but could someone please give me the gist?

For example...I think a squad's ROF is 1 and that machine guns have a ROF 2 and up, but what does this do? I shall have loads more questions by the time I'm finished the first scenario I'm sure. First post by the way...love this site.

-JohNny
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are links to a series of articles on ASL developed by Jay Richardson to help acquaint new players with ASL. I found them to be tremendously helpful when I first started. One of them deals with ROF.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/157922
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/166941
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/169542
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/177157
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/88350
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/122340

Squads do not have the ability to maintain ROF when using their inherent firepower. MG, Mortars, and Guns do have the ability to fire several times by maintaining ROF. Look on the counter for a number in a box. This is the ROF number. When rolling on the IFT (for MGs) or To-Hit (for Mortars, Guns), compare the number on the red die to the ROF number. If the number on the red die is equal to or less than the ROF number, such an unpinned MG, Mortar, or Gun may fire again in that phase (except the AFPh) until such time as the ROF is exceeded by the red die roll, or the Weapon or its manning Infantry is marked with a Final Fire counter.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thompson
United States
Homewood
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ROF is only available to SW and Guns. It is the number in the box.

MMC and SMC do not have ROF.

An LMG typically has a ROF of 1, MMG of 2 and HMG of 3.

Guns have various ROF from none to 3. AA Guns usually have higher ROF.

When you roll the dice for an IFT or To Hit you roll a white die and a colored die. If the colored die is less than or equal to the ROF of the SW/Gun, then it is not marked with the appropriate Fire Marker (Prep or First/Final Fire) and may fire again. Note that the MMC firing the wepons is still marked, it's only the SW itself which can fire again.

ROF is only applicable during Prep Fire, Defensive First Fire (not Subsequent First Fire or Final Protective Fire). ROF is also applicable in the Defensive Fire Phase as long as the SW/Gun is not marked with any Fire marker (First Fire or Intensive Fire).

Welcome to BGG.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Young
Wales
Wellesley
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
And if you never have, you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ROF is applicable in the Advancing Fire phase if the unit was marked with an OPP FIRE counter.

Is Opportunity Fire in ASL SK#1?

Andy
devil

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
medievalbanquet wrote:

Is Opportunity Fire in ASL SK#1?


Nope. Nor is it in SK 2 or 3.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Pytel
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
medievalbanquet wrote:
Is Opportunity Fire in ASL SK#1?

No Opp Fire in the SK's, as stated above. Being that there's no concealment, it wouldn't do a whole lot of good anyway - the best you could do would be to Opp Fire in hopes of revealing a HIP Gun during DFire.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Young
Wales
Wellesley
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
And if you never have, you should. These things are fun and fun is good.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True. ASL SK#1 sounds boring.



devil
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Massey
United States
Teachey
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Casual wargamer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tompy wrote:
ROF is only available to SW and Guns.
Quote:
It is the number in the box.


Welcome to BGG.








It is the number in the box on each sw and gun counter! Hope this helps! Welcome to BGG!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.