Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Memoir '44» Forums » Rules

Subject: When does the game end? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Magnus Esko
Sweden
Piteå
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I could not find this in the rules or FAQ: When exactly is the game over?

Let's say that the Allies are first, is the game over when the Allies get the required amount of medals or do the Axis get one more turn?

Personally I think the Axis should get a turn after the Allies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seriously, turn off Facebook. You'll be happier.
United States
Riva
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Awakening wrote:

Personally I think the Axis should get a turn after the Allies.


    More than a few Japanese felt the same way in 1945.

    When a player achieves the goal, victory is theirs.

             Sag.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michael confoy
United States
ASHBURN
VA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That or when your head explodes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Hart
Australia
Lilydale
Victoria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any scenario ends at the immediate time that ANY particular player achieves the stated victory conditions.

No ending the turn, no giving the other guy his turn as well; for example, if the victory point target is 4 points, the game ends at the very moment that either player kills that unit that gives them 4 VP, or controlling that bridge, or that city, etc.

If this happens on your first attack in the turn (or move, if you get points for controlling something on the map), that is when it ends. The rest of the turn is immaterial, the Victory conditions have been met.

Swap sides, setup the board, and play the scenario again.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus Esko
Sweden
Piteå
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dredstar wrote:
Any scenario ends at the immediate time that ANY particular player achieves the stated victory conditions.

No ending the turn, no giving the other guy his turn as well; for example, if the victory point target is 4 points, the game ends at the very moment that either player kills that unit that gives them 4 VP, or controlling that bridge, or that city, etc.

If this happens on your first attack in the turn (or move, if you get points for controlling something on the map), that is when it ends. The rest of the turn is immaterial, the Victory conditions have been met.

Swap sides, setup the board, and play the scenario again.



That's a very good answer, thank you. And yes, been playing the game in match form: each scenario played once on each side, totaling up the score.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Thrower
United Kingdom
Bath
Somerset
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
papahoth wrote:
That or when your head explodes.


No, no! It's when your opponents head explodes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.