Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Are spells considered "items"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Paprocki
United States
Green Bay
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a handful of events that cause an investigator to lose "items." Do you include spells in this category?

The fact that they are listed in the rules as "spells" as opposed to "common items" or "unique items" or "artifact items" makes me think the answer is no, they are NOT items.

The counter argument is that spells can be traded between investigators, and therefore they are item-like.

I scanned through the posted topics, but it was kind of overwhelming. Thanks for your help.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Davis
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Lucky 13, GASP
badge
Fiendish Furarri Fought Frightening Foes Flanking From The Fearsome Fog; But Now Furarri F'taghn.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, spells are items.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
From the Dunwich FAQ:

Quote:
Miscellaneous
Q: Exactly where, when, and what can investigators
trade?
A: Investigators may trade any time they are in the
same location except during combat. They may trade
before, during or after movement, which means trading
does not end a move.

They may trade Common Items, Unique Items,
Money, and Spells. They may not trade Clue tokens,
Allies, and Monster and Gate trophies.

If it can be traded, it is an item and can be lost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim K
Australia
Colonel Light Gardens
SA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you trade retainers, Sheldon Gang membership, train passes or Silver Twilight membership?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Kerbster76 wrote:
Can you trade retainers, Sheldon Gang membership, train passes or Silver Twilight membership?

No, No, Maybe, No.

1, 2, and 4 are not items and cannot be traded. I need to look up train passes.

EDIT:
Can't find anything definitive. So I would treat a Rail Pass like the other Special cards that once gained, cannot be lost or traded like Items and can only be discarded if an encounter specifically states that it is discarded (or if your investigator retires/gets devoured).
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.