Thanks for your posts guys! I just finished my game with my Dad and my brother. Upon finishing, there was a heated debate as to who was the victor! Hmmmm.... I hope you guys can help me out. So here's how it happened...
I was playing as Battlemage Jaes and we had made it to the final rounds. There were only three red dragons left. I had recently lost my trusted Ally, Sir Gareth the Black, to the feared Dragonlord Fromax. The reward for defeating Fromax reads;
"In place of a melee attack, you may activate this card to inflict 3 damage on your enemy."
After finally defeating Fromax, travelling to the nearest town and healing all my damage, I set my sights on the next Dragon Rune. My brother was leading with 2 Dragon Runes( travelling to collect a third,) and my Dad and I were tied with 1. My only shot at winning the game was to defeat the High Lord Maragath, whose slayer wins the game. So I made a quick pit stop in the next town, bought the Mirror of Shael. This was where it got tricky. The mirror of Shael reads;
"Before Combat: Activate and take 1 exhaustion token. Until the end of this combat, your enemy takes 1 damage for each damage inflicted on your Hero or any of your Allies."
When my next turn rolled around, I made my way to the next Red Challenge. I painfully took the top card and flipped it over hoping to reveal Lord Margath. There he was. This was it.
So here is what I did. Margath has 7 health. I started by activating Fromax to give him 3 damage. 3 down, 4 to go. Then, the battle started and I defended against his Ranged first and failed miserably. I took 2 damage but because of the Mirror of Shael's ability ,so did he. So I was at 2 health and so was he. Next, I defended against his Melee attack and again failed miserably. So I took 3 damage....but so did he. I was knocked out......but he was killed? This didn't seem right, after all, I just totally got owned by the toughest dragon in the game. " Did I just win?" I thought to myself. After several minuites of my brother angrily flipping through the rule book, trying to find some kind of proof that I just lost, we ultimatly decided that I had won. After all, I killed the high Lord Margath and was sitting unconsious in the nearest town......
So what do you think? Did I win ?
On the Fantasy Flight site, there's an errata you can download. I suggest you do so and note the changes.
The same file is available here on BGG:
There is a section about the Mirror of Shael
errata version 1.2 wrote:
(v1.1) Mirror of Shael
Card ability should now read: “Before Combat: Activate
and take 1 exhaustion. Until the end of this combat, your
enemy takes 1 wound every time your Hero takes 1 or
more wounds as the result of a magic combat roll.”
Since this is a fairly complicated ability, here’s a brief
explanation of how the Mirror now works: Every time
your hero takes damage as the result of a magic combat
roll (including if he fails a defend roll during the magic
phase, or if he’s hit by a magic attack during “Before
Combat”), then your enemy takes 1 wound.
So, it sounds to me like the big difference is the "...result of a magic combat roll." (emphasis mine) In your battle, the first 2 damage from Ranged would not affect him. Also, the 3 damage from Melee would not affect him either. So, you'd be knocked out and he'd still have 4 Life.
Besides which, the Fromax card reads "In place of a melee attack", not "at the start of combat"...
You win or lose with the rules you have on hand, NOT some farcical errata that exists in never-never land (just kidding, kidding, just kidding). Really, you WON with the understanding of the rules you had on hand.
I'm looking at the 1st Edition card and it says:
Before Combat:Activate and take 1(exhaust). Until the end of this combat, your enemy takes 1 (wound) for each (wound) inflicted on your Hero or any of your Allies.
You WON using the explanation provided. Now, if you choose to play with the Erratta next time then it changes for that game.