My ass is green, but I don't let it worry me.
While playing the game the other day, we ran accross an ambiguity in the rules surrounding how you decide when something dies. According to the rules:
Page 8 wrote:
Check to see if the player has killed the creature or otherwise completed the Encounter after each Attack Card is played. If not, the player with the next highest Initiative now takes their Turn. Continue until all players have completed their Turn - or the creature is killed.
And from the detailed turn order in the 2.0 rules:
Page 7 wrote:
• All players ‘Set’ Attack Cards
• Player Turns Begin in Initiative Order:
- Player #1 reveals/resolves Attack Card
- Successful Attack(s) added to damage stack
- Check if Encounter is dead
- Player turn ends
So, after a player plays an attack card you compare the total of all attack cards played this round and compare it to the monster's remaining life. If the damage is greater, you kill it, if not, the next player in initiative order gets to go.
So, my question is this: what the hell does the Paradox actually do? The card reads as follows:
Temporal Shift: After all Attack Cards have been placed on the damage stack, the damage is applied to PARADOX in reverse order, from the last card placed to the first card placed. Action Cards must still be played as an Attack Card is revealed.
So, what difference does it make? Since you check for killing after your attack card is revealed, if you do make it to the end of the round you know the creature isn't dead and reversing the stack isn't going to change that.
So, does this mean that for the Paradox, you should skip the step where you check to see if it is dead?