Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Totensonntag» Forums » Rules

Subject: Artillery - Barrage or Assault rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
I will not rest until Biblios is in the Top 100. - Steve Oksienik
United States
Howell
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Well I been watchin' while you been coughin, I've been drinking life while you've been nauseous, and so I drink to health while you kill yourself and I got just one thing that I can offer... Go on and save yourself and take it out on me
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So what exactly is the difference for barraging or assaulting with artillery? I can't quite figure this out from the rules, but it says to subtract 1 if barraging. What does this mean?

To barrage, you need range, a spotter, and to range in. Do you then need to calculate firepower? If you assault with artillery, do you need to worry about range, spotter, and range in, or do you just check firepower as usual for an assault?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
stormseeker75 wrote:
To barrage, you need range, a spotter, and to range in. Do you then need to calculate firepower?

Yes; 7.1 mentions artillery barrages, and the penalties at the end of 7.4 are referring to artillery firepower in barrages. (That's implied by the sentence which precedes the penalties, but I guess it could have been clearer.)

stormseeker75 wrote:
If you assault with artillery, do you need to worry about range, spotter, and range in, or do you just check firepower as usual for an assault?

Well, I don't see anything indicating that it's handled differently than other units' assaults.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I will not rest until Biblios is in the Top 100. - Steve Oksienik
United States
Howell
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Well I been watchin' while you been coughin, I've been drinking life while you've been nauseous, and so I drink to health while you kill yourself and I got just one thing that I can offer... Go on and save yourself and take it out on me
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Okay, so for a barrage, you have to do all that other stuff and then you fire normally. I got it now. Thank you very much Rusty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Bogdasarian
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note a barrage lets you shoot at any unit in the stack, while an assault is only the top enemy unit.

Assault = full firepower, no need to range in, no spotter, can only attack top enemy unit in stack.

Barrage = reduced firepower, must range in, need a spotter, can attack any unit in stack. This is the Western desert and so artillery is not very effective - you would see more useful guns in other theatres of the war.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Berger Steve
Switzerland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hello

Isn't there also another advantage of barraging : you shoot at a unit which is away from you. That meens, that unit will have to come closer later to harm you. Is that correct ? And is my english understandable ?

Thanks in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Johnson
United States
Seguin
TX
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
berdzi wrote:
Hello

Isn't there also another advantage of barraging : you shoot at a unit which is away from you. That meens, that unit will have to come closer later to harm you. Is that correct ? And is my english understandable ?

Thanks in advance


That is how I interpret the rules. And your English is just fine!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.