Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Lohr
United States
East China
Michigan
flag msg tools
mb
I'm very new to the whole Euro-gaming scene, so I don't really know where to start...

I seem to always hear about the "Settlers of Catan", so I guess I'll start there, but does anyone have any other suggestions for someone new to the whole Euro-games thing???

I've played A LOT of different board games over the years, but they've usually been of the Milton Bradley or Parker Brothers line...

Oh... and let me just add that I'm a fan of games with lots of cool bits and pieces!! The more the Better!!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Faust
United States
Malverne
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I can't recommend Ticket to Ride highly enough.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew C
United States
San Marcos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Skip the whole euro gaming thing and graduate right to wargaming.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
robert cabrera
United States
Chesterfield
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I recommend taking out a second mortgage.

Heres my geeklist of games I play (like and dislike), started a year ago.

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/32431

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolas Varela
Chile
Santiago
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Ticket to Ride is easier but too straightforward, and not a very big step up from Monopoly. I would deeply recommend Catan.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Kollross
Canada
Carvel
Alberta
flag msg tools
designer
Pew pew pew!!!
badge
I'm a member of the Game Artisans of Canada
mbmbmbmbmb
Start small.

Go slow.

If at all possible try before you buy.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Talbot
Canada
Fort Smith
Northwest Territories
flag msg tools
Be seeing you... -Alphonse
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Cleitus the Black wrote:
Skip the whole euro gaming thing and graduate right to wargaming.

What he said.