Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Stone Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on the 1-7 Hut? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
the difference between a "crowd" and a "mob" is one push
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We recently had a discussion as to how this Hut works.

My arguement was that it allows for any combination of resources, up to 7. That the Huts that restrict resources always have the resource symbol in parentheses.

The other arguement, drawn from an online implementation of the game, was that all of the resources used to build this Hut must be of only a single type.

Which is right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cheng
United States
Catonsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Doesn't the rule specifically states that the number of different kinds of resources is up to the player? Unless there are two different types of 1-7 hut tiles.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave boulton
United Kingdom
etchingham
E. Sussex
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hmm i interpretated to mean 1-7 items of one kind of resource, so you could have a solid gold hut worth um 42 points or one made from a single tree for 3
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Barry Goldstein
United States
Culver City
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules definitely say the number of different types is up to the player.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David F
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Luck in games, in measured doses, is the catalyst which enables shocking game-changers that you'll remember and talk about forever.
badge
Let the Lord of Chaos rule.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zalasta is right. It's 1-7 of any kind you want.

Which online implementation does that? BSW definitely follows 1-7 of any kind you want.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
drbsgold wrote:
The rules definitely say the number of different types is up to the player.

Agreed, the rules seem very clear to me:

1-7 Building on p. 7 wrote:
The player calculates the points by the value of the resources.
He must pay at least 1 resource and at most 7 resources.
The number of different kinds is up to the player.

(emphasis added)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chaddyboy
United States
Olathe
Kansas
flag msg tools
admin
designer
Bloooooop.
badge
Bluuuuuurp.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, its any 7 resources you want. So you could do 3 wood, 2 stone, and clay and a gold if you wanted.

Invariably, these stupid things show up when I'm first in turn order and was planning on taking something else. Definitely makes for a hard decision!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bogdan Petrar
Romania
Timi┼čoara
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
hmmm... but isn't there only 1 resource icon meaning that I can only chose 1 resourse tipe?

3 wood, or 7 wood or 2 gold or 6 gold?

I did mine a 6 gold

------------

So I basicly can have 2 wood, 1 clay, 1 stone, 3 gold = 33 points?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Warren
United Kingdom
Wisbech
CAMBRIDGESHIRE
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"Elves are very good at board games, and I'm NOT an elf!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the icon is not in parentheses "()" on this card, so it can be 1-7 of different kinds of resources or all the same resource as you wish.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I agree with the rule on this hut, but does anyone else feel this makes this hut just a little too powerful? Essentially you can convert ANY seven of your resources to VP? Why wouldn't the first player snatch this up every time?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.