Second question is about using cards to cancel fights. I read that you can only cancel cards before any dice have been rolled. Does this apply to fights as well? Do you have to decide to cancel a fight before any fight dice are rolled? Last night the heroes would fight and then when things did not go their way, they would just cancel the fight using various townsfolk cards. That was quite aggravating, but I did not contest it at the time
See page 14 of the rules: "Using Cards and Abilities" (statement in box) Unless stated otherwise, cards and abilities may always be used after the fight dice have been rolled to change the outcome.
Also, note the following information from the BGG FAQ version 3: "Also, just as a side note, cards that ‘Cancel a Fight’ may be played DURING a Fight. So you can wait until you roll the dice and are actually losing before Mr. Hyde comes out and Cancels the Fight. A Fight that is Cancelled is not Resolved so no one wins/loses and no damage is done." http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1700660