Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce Diamond
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Myself and a friend have been playing war games for about three years and we are looking for a somewhat larger game to take a shot at. The OCS system seems to get great reviews so we thought we would try one of these games. Case Blue looks too large for us to tackle right off, so I'm looking for suggestions on one of the other OCS games to start with. Any help?

We can normally leave a game set up for a few weeks, but have only the dining room table to play on.

thanks

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Sheppard
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've been wargaming for about 3 years myself and got into OCS about a year ago. It's easily my favorite system.

Most people will tell you to start with Tunisia for a number or reasons. Most notably, it has a small initial number of units and not too many game specific rules. The only disadvantage is the complexity of the terrain. It can be a little much to take in when you're already trying to get your head around your trace supply network, your combat supply network, your air network, the flow of your reinforecements, etc.

The other disadvantage is it's an older title in the series so it's missing a few minor features: non-rebuildable units, a copy of the latest rules, and a few other things. However, as with all the older OCS titles (except EatG and GBI), it plays perfectly well with the 4.0 rules.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Charlie Sheppard
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
These geeklists provide an excellent overview of the series, although Chris' could use a little updating:

http://boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/1549
http://boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/19786

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Hunter
New Zealand
Auckland
flag msg tools