Subject: Need some advice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Hi all,

I am new to Ticket to Ride. I just went out and bought the game today along with the 1910 expansion because of all the great reviews I've read. I can't say I'm a heavy game player but I am a big fan of Settlers of Catan which I've owned for some years.

Now that the kids are all gone, I'd like to play TTR with my wife...who is not necessarily a big board game fan but I think she'll take to this because of the simplicity of the rules.

My questions are these:

Since the two of us are TTR beginners and I'm aiming to get my wife as interested and enthusiastic over this game as possible, which rules do you recommend we use for two-person games...at least initially?

Should we use any or all of the new destination tickets?

How about the new globetrotter bonus ticket?

I just want to be sure we start off with a bang...because if my wife gets a bad first impression, that can kill the whole experience!

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Cheng
United States
Catonsville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Play with the most basic rules. So that means stick with the original deck of destination cards (use the 1910 version because the cards are bigger and nicer, but take out the ones that aren't part of the base game) and I would leave out both the longest route and the globetrotter bonuses. Let her be familiar with just the concept of building and making tickets before having to worry about the other ways to get points.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Chen
Taiwan
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmb
I'd leave the longest route in, and the most tickets out. Shouldn't make too much of a difference either way though.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
♪ Isaäc Bickërstaff ♫
United States
Greer
South Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
Entropy Seminar:
badge