Re:1st turn rules question
If people can power two cities I assume those will build two, therefore the people with stations 3-5 will not be losing much in terms of position if they build a second station since they will still be in the better half of the turn order.
Therefore isn't board position more useful as it will tend to discourage the later players from starting close to them. If others do start in the same area the second station has guaranteed them easier access to the board without having to jump build.
Also assuming they have double powered their station they need not worry about rising resource costs next turn as they have already bought cheap.
Only the people with higher cost single city stations should not build two cities in order to gain position.