marks the spot.
I've been working on my version of the rules including Karim's artwork designed to be printed. I have a question about this vague rule:
"4.1.3 When making “game” die rolls such as the Monster Roll, simply roll one die and do not modify the result."
What are all the rolls that fall into this category? The only ones I can think of are rolls on the Lost table and the Monster roll. Are there any more?
p.s. If anyone wants to proofread/give feedback, the first three chapters are done, except for some cross-references and tables. Just sent be a PM with your email and I'll email you a PDF version.
Karim has quite reasonably asked that there be only one version with his artwork published or posted, so I am going to withdraw this offer. My original question still stands, however.
- Last edited Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:27 pm (Total Number of Edits: 1)
- Posted Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:27 am
I've been working on my version of the rules including Karim's artwork designed to be printed.
ecraven has already done almost all of the work for this -- there's another thread here detailing the work and asking for proofreaders, if you're interested in joining forces with him (although he's on holiday the next two weeks):
The BBC series is far better than the excellent NBC one. Now go watch it.
This is not me but I have been known to dance like David Brent on occasion.
Magic Realm rules
I'd like a PDF copy of the rules to take a look at.
Bill Koens wrote:
What are all the rolls that fall into this category?
I don't know that anyone has ever compiled a complete list, but if you use Acrobat Reader's search function to search through the 3.1 rules PDF for the phrase "one die" you should find all of them, since the rules will specifically tell you to use one die instead of the normal die rolling procedure. Rolls that use one die are such things as the Monster Roll, a landing roll after flying, repositioning denizens during combat, etc.
Bill Koens wrote:
The only ones I can think of are rolls on the Lost table and the Monster roll.
What makes you think that you only roll one die on the Lost Table?
I don't see anything in the rules that would prevent a Lost roll from being the normal "roll two dice and use the higher number" procedure: It's not in the "Die Roll Procedures" on page 30; it's not in the Lost spell description; it's not in the explanation of the Lost Table on page 118; and Rule 4.1.1 is very specific about how you roll on a Table, with no exception made for the Lost Table.
In fact, the explanation for the Lost Table specifically uses the plural form: "The character rolls the dice..." instead of the singular form: "The character rolls one die..."
In addition, note that there is no "Landing Table"; the flying rules simply tell you to roll one die to select the clearing in which you will land. So why go through the trouble of creating an elaborate Lost Table? The only explanation that would seem to make sense is that selecting a clearing to move to when you are lost was somehow intended to be a different process than selecting a clearing to land in when you are flying.
Granted, it does seem odd that you would be far more likely to move to a clearing 6 rather than a clearing 1 when you are lost... but then again Magic Realm is full of quirky, odd-ball rules such as this.
However, further confusing the issue is the fact that in the 1st edition rules, there is no Lost Table at all, and the Lost spell does in fact simply tell you to roll one die to select the clearing that you move to! So why was the Lost Table added to the 2nd edition rulebook? Was the resulting apparent change in how Lost works intentional... or accidental? Who knows?
For what it's worth, my old game group always rolled two dice on the Lost Table... because that's what the rules said to do. Lost is such a rarely used spell – and it's such a difficult spell to use effectively even when it might actually be useful – that rolling two dice instead of one on the Lost Table is highly unlikely to ever have any real effect on the game.
I did check through both the old MRnet forum archives, and the MR Mailing List archives, but I could not find any discussion of the Lost Table whatsoever. I suspect that most veteran players just assumed that it worked the same way as it did in the 1st edition. And it's such an obscure point that it never occurred to me to bring it to the attention of Steve & Teresa while they were working on the 3.1 rules rewrite. But Steve will most likely see this post, so we'll see if he thinks if an errata might be in order here.