GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,405 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Here I Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two Debater Bonuses in one impulse rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Koehler
United States
Waxhaw
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am sorry if this has been answered elsewhere, but I couldn't find it.

Can the Prots, in one action, use one debater for Publishing a Treatise/Reformation attempts, and another debater for a translation?

Each power (Protestant and Papacy) may only use one debater’s
bonus in a given impulse to affect Reformation or Counter Reformation
attempts or biblical translations.

Is that one for both Ref and Trans, or one for each?

Steve
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Thomas
United Kingdom
London
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only one Debater Bonus in an impulse which affects Reformation or Counter Reformation attempts or biblical translations.

So, no, you can't use 2 Debaters in one impulse for this purpose.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon H
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
In a recent ftf game I used Bucer's bonus after completing both the German and French New Testaments in the same impulse - i.e. I used the bonus in both Germany and France, across the 12 conversion attempts.

Was that valid? I won, so I hope so
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Beach
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Technically, no.

The rules on Debater Bonuses read: "Debater bonuses last for that one Event card play or action only."

You would need a seperate Translate Scripture action to finish the second New Testament. So Bucer should have helped only in Germany OR France.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon H
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Not sure how many results it actually affected (I had Printing Press going too), but I'll know for the future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.